Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Colour Maximite 1.5? or something
Page 9 of 13 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3801 |
What would be the fastest (throughput) PSRAM and how much slower would it be than the internal CPU RAM? John |
||||
javavi Senior Member Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 213 |
PSRAM @133 MHz It will also depend on the connection scheme and protocol, SPI, DSPI, QSPI, QPI. Naturally, it will be slower than the internal RAM of the RP2040 :( It may be advisable to use this external RAM to organize buffers and memory blocks I know that it is used in retro console emulators. |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9115 |
The issue is not so much speed as the fact the RAM wouldn't be memory mapped (unlike the ESP32-S3). This means that special code would have to be written for anything that wants to us the RAM. You would want a minimum of quad SPI (preferably Octal) which uses 6 or 10 pins and a PIO so, for the VGA version and the WebMite no PIO left for the user. Nothing that isn't do-able but certainly not on my agenda |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
It is running out of the box with PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.09.00b0. Trying to get it in the "Flash Mode" by pressing Boot and Plugin USB. But that doesn't work for me. I expected a new Drive to which i can copy the .u2f File?.... Ok, tomorrow i have som time left. THX to all |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9115 |
You have to program it through the USB-A connector using a A-A male-male cable |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Already tried it. But i'am victim of a poor USB Cable, i think... Try to find another one. |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9115 |
Remember assuming it is powered (though the USB-C) you need to hold boot and press reset |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Another Cable works. Is it allowed to ask where I can download the latest version? |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9306 |
Peter - I'm just curious - why did you make the default baudrate 115k2 instead of the "Standard Micromite Baudrate" of 38k4? Not that I care, really, but I am curious. One thing I do like about ALL the different flavours of MMBASIC on various chipsets, is that they all(usually) use a default baudrate of 38k4. Naturally, 115k2 is much faster etc, but 38k4 was pretty much the universal standard for anything MMBASIC.......unless YOU change it to something else yourself. Pretty much all of your own ports used 38k4 up until this one, from what I can remember..... Not a criticism, just me being curious. Perhaps I have missed something - would not be the first time. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9115 |
Nearly all my ports including things like the CMM2 use 115200 its just that because they are over CDC you don't notice. Industry standards are 115200 or 9600. MMbasic variants at 38400 are very much an outlier. 9600 would be ridiculous hence 115200 |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Good Morning, … so that I don't create unnecessary questions with bugs that have long since been fixed..., Or new Features. Where can I download the latest firmware? Otherwise will use Peters Link in the opening thread. THX Edited 2024-02-18 18:51 by atmega8 |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9115 |
Everything is in the 5.09.00 betas thread - here but they are BETAS!!! |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6787 |
"Here Be Dragons!", eh Peter? Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
What does this mean? |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4039 |
No lower case, strange green display, poor software support and extra Welsh-ness . Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-02-18 20:38 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
phil99 Guru Joined: 11/02/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2135 |
|
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Ok, now i understand… Thank you. |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
hi Grogster, i think what Peter is trying to say above is that up until now most of his ports of mmbasic have provided a console connection over USB coming directly from the processor. as such, there are no actual UARTs involved in the data path, and so even though a baud rate may be specified it is (a) meaningless and (b) ignored by pretty much everything. hence Peter just picked 115200 because it was 'as good as any'. one obvious exception to the baud rate being meaningless is if you set 1200 baud when talking to a pico over its USB port - the pico (or TinyUSB) senses 1200 as being a 'magic number' to trigger entering the bootloader. and the CMM2's H7 processor uses a UART console, which is plumbed to the USB socket on the back via an MCP2221A or 16F1455 - i just checked the CMM2 manual, and it explains all this on page 12. but i'm guessing few folks used that console connection, instead either working through MMedit or typing on an attached keyboard. so back to the present case, this just happens to be the first time the console baud rate setting had any actual meaning to someone :-) cheers, rob :-) |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Hello, playing arround with "Play Tone" this code makes incredible noise on the left channel, while right channel is clean. With Headphone, but also with the on board Amplifier. Also with external power supply. print mm.ver 5.08 Do For d = 0 To 4000 Play tone d,d,5000 For i = 1 To 2 Next i Next d For d = 4000 To 1 Step -1 Play tone d,d,5000 For i = 1 To 1 Next i Next d Loop Edited 2024-02-18 23:32 by atmega8 |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6787 |
"Here Be Dragons" was, supposedly, a phrase written on very old seafaring maps to warn people not to land in a particular area. I don't think it was ever really written on maps, but I like the concept - especially when applied to beta firmware. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Page 9 of 13 |
Print this page |