Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite/VGA/WEB V5.07.08 release candidates
Page 7 of 18 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
carlschneider Senior Member Joined: 04/08/2023 Location: South AfricaPosts: 158 |
Hi Peter Just to add to the stability observations. Webmite RC5 pre filename expansion launched 10-10-2023 15:56:11, powered through USB from a wall wart, no telnet terminal connection after launch and appeared to be running correctly-heartbeat and LCD display. I now, 12-10-2023 13:30, tried to access the Webmite through TFTP and TELNET but could not get any response from the WiFi module. I then reset the Webmite and now have Telnet and TFTP access. Hope this helps in informing your investigation. Cheers Carl Retirement is tough on Hobbies without a day job |
||||
carlschneider Senior Member Joined: 04/08/2023 Location: South AfricaPosts: 158 |
Hi Peter Just to add to the stability observations. Webmite RC5 pre filename expansion launched 10-10-2023 15:56:11, powered through USB from a wall wart, no telnet terminal connection after launch and appeared to be running correctly-heartbeat and LCD display. I now, 12-10-2023 13:30, tried to access the Webmite through TFTP and TELNET but could not get any response from the WiFi module. I then reset the Webmite and now have Telnet and TFTP access. Hope this helps in informing your investigation. Cheers Carl Retirement is tough on Hobbies without a day job |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
Carl I've been running Geoff's watering controller now for many days without any issues. There is something in your code or environment that is triggering the issues you are seeing, Unfortunately there is no way I can diagnose what this might be remotely so there is little I can do until you can pinpoint what triggers the program to stop. Sorry, I can't be more helpful but I have no way of knowing what might be the issue. I'm pretty sure I have eliminated all memory leaks but who knows? |
||||
carlschneider Senior Member Joined: 04/08/2023 Location: South AfricaPosts: 158 |
Thanks for the feedback Peter. I’ll try segmenting the code and see what happens. Cheers Carl Retirement is tough on Hobbies without a day job |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
V5.07.08RC7 https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip This minor update has a number of optimisations of FRAMEBUFFER BLIT for the PicoMite and WebMite If you are using it to move data from a framebuffer to the display AND the x-coordinate of the data in the framebuffer is even you will see a big reduction in the time taken. The reduction will be even greater if you blit a number of complete lines So (ILI9341 SPI): VERY FAST 0.8uSec/pixel timer=0:framebuffer blit f,n,0,100,0,120,MM.HRES,100:?timer FAST 1.1uSec/pixel timer=0:framebuffer blit f,n,100,100,121,120,100,100:?timer BEFORE 2.4uSec/pixel UPDATE Now all BLITs from framebuffer (or layer) to a screen are optimized. Download updated 7:00 UTC 13/10/23 Also, I must be feeling very co-operative today - DONE Edited 2023-10-13 17:10 by matherp |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Many thanks Peter, that's one fewer balls I have to keep in the air for the Game*Mite. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
V5.07.08RC8 https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip This version adds new drawing functionality for the PicoMite and WebMite BLIT MEMORY and BLIT COMPRESSED can now BLIT to the LCD direct however in this case a transparent colour can not be specified. FRAMEBUFFER MERGE tries to emulate a bit of how the layer buffer works in the VGA version. It copies any non-black pixels in the layer buffer to the screen In addition I've rationalized the way tokens are assigned to commands so library files should now be completely interchangeable between versions e.g. FRAMEBUFFER layer FRAMEBUFFER write l For i=5 To MM.HRes-5 Step 10 Line i,0,i,MM.VRes-1 Next i For i=5 To MM.VRes-5 Step 10 Line 0,i,MM.HRes-1,i Next i FRAMEBUFFER write n CLS RGB(red) FRAMEBUFFER merge Edited 2023-10-14 18:21 by matherp |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
I've just updated RC8 with one final tweak (8:50UTC 14/11/23) BACKLIGHT level [,DEFAULT] if DEFAULT is specified then the firmware will automatically set the backlight to that level on power-up. This is intended for battery operation where reducing the backlight level can significantly increase battery life Hopefully that completes 5.07.08 and I'll now work with Geoff to get the manuals updated ahead of an official release |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
What have I missed here? "[LIBRARY] SYNC" and "Error : sync not initialised" > update firmware PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.08RC8 Copyright 2011-2023 Geoff Graham Copyright 2016-2023 Peter Mather > AUTOSAVE FRAMEBUFFER layer FRAMEBUFFER write l For i=5 To MM.HRes-5 Step 10 Line i,0,i,MM.VRes-1 Next i For i=5 To MM.VRes-5 Step 10 Line 0,i,MM.HRes-1,i Next i FRAMEBUFFER write n CLS RGB(red) FRAMEBUFFER merge Saved 137 bytes > save "framebuffermerge.bas" > run [LIBRARY] SYNC Error : sync not initialised > list FRAMEBUFFER layer FRAMEBUFFER write l For i=5 To MM.HRes-5 Step 10 Line i,0,i,MM.VRes-1 Next i For i=5 To MM.VRes-5 Step 10 Line 0,i,MM.HRes-1,i Next i FRAMEBUFFER write n CLS RGB(red) FRAMEBUFFER merge > Note: those two error message lines appeared on the LCD as well as in TeraTerm ~ Edited 2023-10-14 21:39 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
You need to re-create the library - the tokens have changed. However, with the recent changes I made they shouldn't need to change again Edited 2023-10-14 23:26 by matherp |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
That was the change that Peter kindly incorporated from what I'd done for the Game*Mite. All uncaught ERRORs should now always get displayed on the LCD as well as on the console. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2023-10-14 23:52 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
OK, this worked with latest RC8 (pet_lib.bin unchanged, just reloaded after LIBRARY DELETE)--white grid on red background: PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.08RC8 Copyright 2011-2023 Geoff Graham Copyright 2016-2023 Peter Mather > files A:/ <DIR> . <DIR> .. 00:00 01-01-2000 4 bootcount 00:01 01-01-2000 214 framebuffermerge.bas 08:06 04-10-2023 102400 pet_lib.bin 00:06 01-01-2000 11533 qbertvp.bas 00:00 01-01-2000 15488 qbertvp2.bas 00:01 01-01-2000 141 scrollx.bas 00:01 01-01-2000 0 spr_index.txt 2 directories, 6 files, 684032 bytes free > library delete > library disk load "pet_lib.bin" > a: > load "framebuffermerge.bas" > run > PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
aFox Regular Member Joined: 28/02/2023 Location: GermanyPosts: 76 |
BACKLIGHT level [,DEFAULT] if DEFAULT is specified then the firmware will automatically set the backlight to that level on power-up. This is intended for battery operation where reducing the backlight level can significantly increase battery life Hopefully that completes 5.07.08 and I'll now work with Geoff to get the manuals updated ahead of an official release Power Supply The Raspberry Pi Pico W has a flexible power system. THE QUESTION IS: Only the Pi Pico W. The the Pi Pico is not flexible? I THINK: The description is a bit to complex for micro controller beginners. The input voltage from either the USB or VBUS inputs is connected through a Schottky diode to the buck-boost SMPS (Switch Mode Power Supply) which has an output of 3.3V. The SMPS will accommodate input voltages from 1.8V to 5.5V allowing the WebMite to run from a wide range of power sources including batteries. External circuitry can be powered by VBUS (normally 5V) or by the 3V3 (3.3V) output which can source up to 300mA. For embedded controller applications generally an external power source (other than USB) is required and this can be connected to VSYS via a Schottky diode. This will allow the WebMite to be powered by whichever supply is producing the highest voltage (USB or VSYS). The diodes will prevent feedback into the lower voltage supply. To minimize power supply noise it is possible to ground 3V3EN to turn off the SMPS. When shutdown the converter will stop switching, internal control circuitry will be turned off and the load disconnected. You can then power the board via a 3.3V linear regulator feeding into the 3V3 pin. I SUGGEST: Explaining by use case drawings. Power via 1. USB connector. 2. Battery 1.8V to 5.5V 3. Battery 1.8V to 5.5V and charging module 4. 5V power supply (linear regulator) 5. Noisy 5V power supply 6. 3.3V power supply (linear regulator) 7. Noisy 3.3V power supply Which Schottky diode? Gregor |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6100 |
Power Supply The Raspberry Pi Pico W has a flexible power system. THE QUESTION IS: Only the Pi Pico W. The the Pi Pico is not flexible? The picomite manual has exactly the same description so, no, not only the Pico W Any diode would do on the input to Vsys. A Schottky is recommended for battery operation due to the lower voltage drop. As long as the diode can handle the current, you can choose any. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
aFox Regular Member Joined: 28/02/2023 Location: GermanyPosts: 76 |
Power Supply The Raspberry Pi Pico W has a flexible power system. THE QUESTION IS: Only the Pi Pico W. The the Pi Pico is not flexible? The picomite manual has exactly the same description so, no, not only the Pico W Any diode would do on the input to Vsys. A Schottky is recommended for battery operation due to the lower voltage drop. As long as the diode can handle the current, you can choose any. Jim I mean “Which Schottky diode type?” A drawing tells more than many words. Gregor Edited 2023-10-16 07:39 by aFox |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9123 |
The MMBasic manuals do not intend to teach electronics or supersede the Pico documentation from Raspberry Pi |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6798 |
The Raspberry Pi Pico Datasheet (from Raspberry Pi) explains the various options for the power supply. It also suggests a suitable Schottky diode, but it is a SMD part with no through-hole equivalent. Anything that will handle a few hundred mA at 10V or so will do. 1N5817, 1N5818 and 1N5819 are typical. The lower Vf the better. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
aFox Regular Member Joined: 28/02/2023 Location: GermanyPosts: 76 |
In my opinion the Manual is one of the best I ever seen. But a German saying: "The better is the enemy of the good!" „BASIC“ stands for „Beginners' All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code“ My suggestion points to micro controller beginners. Why should beginners gather the necessary information? Why should not BASIC be an alternative to Python at school? The Pico is cheap and programable via USB by an Android device. And not within all countries over the world you have PCs or notebooks for education. Keep in mind that a Pico production line is also located in Kenia. Let is make it a little easier for beginners. Gregor Edited 2023-10-16 09:41 by aFox |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6798 |
BASIC *used it be* a crude tool used to teach beginners the rudimentary steps in programming. It was never intended to be anything else. What we have now is only distantly related to the original BASIC and actually has a programming style more in common with Pascal, C and Python, although it is still an interpreter rather than a compiler. It's unfortunate that the name BASIC is still used as the original acronym doesn't really apply now. The fact that MMBasic *is* an interpreter is one of it's strongest points. It has an immediacy, especially when using the built-in editor, that you simply can't get with a compiler system. It gives a very fast work flow. If you want to see what the original BASIC was, look at the various implementations of Tiny BASIC, which is far closer, although it is very limited. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3802 |
Gregor The manual is quite big & fairly comprehensive but if you think it should have more things for beginners I suggest it should be a companion (extra) manual - and someone (probably you) needs to volunteer to write it. Due to intricacies of hardware, sooner or later it's reasonable to expect that a user will have to refer to the underlying RPi Pico documentation, of course, and probably the net (etc) to understand the many many technical terms involved. John |
||||
Page 7 of 18 |
Print this page |