Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:34 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V5.09.00 betas: Sorting out SPRITE and BLIT + USB variants

     Page 6 of 9    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 03:43pm 28 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Harm:

Here is a corrected version for the VGA for you to test.

PicoMiteVGA.zip

I have tested against

this

option base 1
dim a(2,5)=(17,5,25,21,39,34,42,49,32,25)
? math(chi a())

and

this

option base 1
dim a(4,3)=(90,60,104,95,30,50,51,20,30,40,45,35)
? math(chi a())

NB: Now also allows C_MUL and C_MULT
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4233
Posted: 08:18am 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

Spend yesterday night to check the MATH(CHI  ) function, it works okay in this beta.
But for my project, it does not give the correct decision criteria (I tried it because I hoped it could be used as a correlation filter) (*).

I will have to do more analysis to find a better filter for the data. I already have a good idea how to do it, but wanted to stay within the 10ms sample loop.
That means I cannot add a lot of MMBasic instructions for each data point (like a FIR filter implemented in MMBasic). So I am looking at using the best combination of MATH instructions. And I have some new idea's I have to try out next. The path I was on before I tried the CHI function has the best papers.

Thanks for fixing CHI never the less.

Volhout
(*) I wanted to correlate spectral plots, and am interested in the correlation over time. That means that the carrier column is dominant, but in the CHI number the noise contribution is equally dominant. And I could have known since the foruma for each cell is (obs - exp)2 / exp.... Division by expected makes the weight for each cell equal.
Edited 2024-02-29 18:30 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 08:25am 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Harm:

Can you give me more idea what you are trying to do. I've got a pretty good, historical and mostly forgotten, grounding in stats so may be able to provide some input
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 08:33am 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Version 5.09.00b4

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Fixes bug in MATH(CHI
Allows MATH C_MUL and MATH C_MULT

Fixes compile error with PICOMITEUSB version NB: Installing this version (PICOMITEUSB) will delete the A: drive and all options
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4233
Posted: 08:49am 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

As (editted above).
Project: morse decoder
I want to filter carrier tone (dit - dah) out of noise.
I am putting audio in the ADC of Pico (GP26) and use pingpong buffer to miss nothing.
I need 10ms time resolution to be able to make good decisions on fast morse.

I run the ADC's at 3.2kHz, using 32 sample buffers ->10ms
The FFT of the 32 samples gives me 100Hz resolution (bins) that will tollerate some BFO drift of the receiver. So I have a bin for DC, a bin for 100Hz, a bin for 200Hz....a bin for 1600Hz.

At the moment I use 2 pieces of information, and need to combine these

Find the peak in each spectrum, and the associated bin (MATH MAX a(),f%).
- use a low pass filter on the bin (i.e. best 3 of 4 using MATH(SD bin)), so I can decide better in a noisy environment.
- using peak/sum(spectrum) calculate a confidence level for that sample (signal/noise). 90%=perfect, 6% is pure noise (1/16).

With good signal/noise this gives good decision criteria. This is the path I will continue playing with a low pass filter on confidence level to get better decoding in noise.
And then is the next challenge. The most efficient way to match time stamps onto the alphabeth.

Volhout

P.S. as a test bed I use Youtube video's , and PLAY SOUND 1,sine wave, level and PLAY SOUND 2,noise,level from the sound output in pico. changing level of noise helps me defining decoding quality.
Edited 2024-02-29 18:53 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 11:51am 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is just curiosity, now that it is fixed.
Re. the former bug in LINE command when using integer arrays or integer array elements.

It wasn't all integer arrays, just those using % to denote type.
I tried  Dim Integer to set the type and Line worked properly.

Curioser and curioser

Edit. So for those using V5.08.00 which doesn't have the fix, its not really a problem if you avoid %.
Edited 2024-02-29 22:10 by phil99
 
JanVolk
Senior Member

Joined: 28/01/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 144
Posted: 10:29pm 29 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The standard PicoMite firmware version 5.09.00b4 was flashed and compared to the previous versions it turns out that after a reset the port is immediately recognized with a beep and nothing appears on the terminal yet, but it is only released 6 seconds later with the following, which previously was almost immediately the was the case?

PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.09.00b4
Copyright 2011-2024 Geoff Graham
Copyright 2016-2024 Peter Mather

>

Jan
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 02:53pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Version 5.09.00b5
https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Puts a block on OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE n where font n would result in less than 30 characters display width
Enables defaulting caps_lock and num_lock in OPTION KEYBOARD lang [,capslock] [,numlock]

In both case values of 0 or 1 are allowed specifying if the lock is on-1 or off-0.
Default if not specified is caps-lock off and num-lock on

In betas previous to 4 Ctrl-C or program end would disable framebuffers and restore FRAMEBUFFER WRITE to the main display

b4 left the write status as-is. Seems like this confused some users who didn't see the cursor after ctrl-C if the write was to a framebuffer so b5 reverts to previous functionality
Edited 2024-03-02 00:54 by matherp
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2127
Posted: 04:06pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm sorry I posted problems with usb betas in the wrong thread.
I switched back to PicoMite MMBasic USB Edition  5.09.00b2 as I couldn't get 00b3 to do anything not even a terminal to set options.
I just tried PicoMite MMBasic USB Edition  5.09.00b4 and set options but ili9431 not displaying anything so back to PicoMite MMBasic USB Edition  5.09.00b2 and all is fine.
I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 04:25pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Please try b5. There was a problem with b4, don't know about b3, but b5 definitely works with an ILI9341
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2127
Posted: 04:52pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I just tried Version 5.09.00b5 picomite usb and options set but gui test lcd no display on ili9341. Back to 5.09.002 and all is fine again.
I'm not a time waster, I report things not working. wish I could post happy days but having problems with 00b3 , 00b4 and 00b5, picomite usb ili9341, sorry.
everything is the same except new firmware. stan
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 04:58pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Please post your options
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2127
Posted: 05:05pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Please post your options

PicoMite MMBasic USB Edition  5.09.00b2
OPTION SERIAL CONSOLE COM2,GP8,GP9
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION KEYBOARD US
OPTION CPUSPEED  252000 'KHz
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, LANDSCAPE,GP15,GP14,GP13
OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11
GUI CALIBRATE 0, 3891, 3866, -893, -647
OPTION SDCARD GP22
OPTION AUDIO GP0,GP1', ON PWM CHANNEL 0
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 05:22pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Have you done an OPTION RESET in b5 or entered all the options from scratch? If not, please could you try this. Otherwise you will have to stick with b2 for the moment. I don't currently have a properly working ili9341 but the one I have with a cracked screen is definitely showing something with GUI TEST LCDPANEL
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2127
Posted: 05:51pm 01 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Have you done an OPTION RESET in b5 or entered all the options from scratch? If not, please could you try this. Otherwise you will have to stick with b2 for the moment. I don't currently have a properly working ili9341 but the one I have with a cracked screen is definitely showing something with GUI TEST LCDPANEL

Happy days after option reset??? it seems ok.display ok,touch,sd card.
thanks for sorting it.v00b2 was fine. stan
I tried vgaUSB 00b5 and that seems ok now.
Edited 2024-03-02 06:50 by stanleyella
 
JanVolk
Senior Member

Joined: 28/01/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 144
Posted: 01:13am 02 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,
If I only apply voltage to the USB connector with a 5V adapter in the latest version, the Raspberry Pi Pico never starts running and the LED remains off.
Also does not start if connected to TeraTerm (PC beeps twice) and the correct COM port has not yet been selected, the LED remains off.
Option RESET doesn't help either.
Only when the correct com port has been selected in Tera Term will the flashing LED start. When there is only voltage on the module, the LED remains off.
Also tested with clearing memory with Clear_flash.uf2 with no changes.

PicoMite MMBasic version 5.09.00b5
Copyright 2011-2024 Geoff Graham
Copyright 2016-2024 Peter Mather

>

Jan
 
karlelch

Senior Member

Joined: 30/10/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 172
Posted: 06:48am 02 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  JanVolk said  Peter,
If I only apply voltage to the USB connector with a 5V adapter in the latest version, the Raspberry Pi Pico never starts running and the LED remains off.
Also does not start if connected to TeraTerm (PC beeps twice) and the correct COM port has not yet been selected, the LED remains off.
Option RESET doesn't help either.
Only when the correct com port has been selected in Tera Term will the flashing LED start. When there is only voltage on the module, the LED remains off.
Also tested with clearing memory with Clear_flash.uf2 with no changes.

PicoMite MMBasic version 5.09.00b5
Copyright 2011-2024 Geoff Graham
Copyright 2016-2024 Peter Mather

>

Jan


Yes, same for WebMiteV5.09.00b5
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6786
Posted: 08:52am 02 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Which board(s) are you using?
The Pico should always power up using its own USB or via a supply on either pin 39 or pin 40 (which is the same as the USB supply).

If the heartbeat LED isn't flashing after loading the firmware then it's probably either not loaded or buggy. Try an earlier version.

If you have it set up with a USB system then remember that you can't load firmware via the USB-TTL converter. That doesn't work. Disconnect all sources of 5V before connecting the PC lead to the Pico's USB connector to load the firmware. This is important.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
karlelch

Senior Member

Joined: 30/10/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 172
Posted: 09:10am 02 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

IMPORTANT: This does not refer to the USB version but to the normal b5 (in my case, `WebMiteV5.09.00b5.uf2`)

  Mixtel90 said  Which board(s) are you using?

I am using here Pico W - it worked fine with b2 before.

  Mixtel90 said  The Pico should always power up using its own USB or via a supply on either pin 39 or pin 40 (which is the same as the USB supply).

Yes, but it doesn't. It boots when it is able to initiate a COM link, but not with a USB power supply alone. Does not blink; does not boot (or gets stuck, I cannot tell).

  Mixtel90 said  If the heartbeat LED isn't flashing after loading the firmware then it's probably either not loaded or buggy. Try an earlier version.

b2 works fine; haven't tested b3 and b4.
EDIT: I did not download b3 and b4, and they seem not to be available anymore

  Mixtel90 said  
If you have it set up with a USB system then remember that you can't load firmware via the USB-TTL converter. That doesn't work. Disconnect all sources of 5V before connecting the PC lead to the Pico's USB connector to load the firmware. This is important.

Yes, thanks. This is not about the USB version.

Best
Thomas
Edited 2024-03-02 19:12 by karlelch
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6786
Posted: 09:19am 02 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have 5.08 working properly on a Webmite. I've not tested anything later on it as I don't need to for this job, I don't think.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
     Page 6 of 9    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024