Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite/PicoMiteVGA/WebMite V5.07.07 release candidates
Page 4 of 13 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
OK, there is one more this evening: > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "/") 1 > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "\") 0 > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "A:/") 1 > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "A:\") 0 > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "C:/") 1 > ? Mm.Info(Exists Dir "C:\") 0 - Is it correct that "\" is not automatically converted ? - Obviously there isn't a drive "C:" Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
Has anyone else noticed a significant drop in performance of the PicoMiteVGA ? It's been some time since I last tested Lazer Cycle on it, but the game used to be pretty snappy at 2520000 and is now (RC4) only adequate at 3580000. Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6810 |
I've not noticed, but then again I've not run anything that would need more than the default speed of RC4. Eliza and Super Star Trek are hardly demanding. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1115 |
I have 2 Picomites PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.07.07RC4 and PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.07.06 I noticed that PicoFrog on 5.07.07RC4 if it runs, is much slower on 252000 than on the 5.07.06 'no comment |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4253 |
Peter made a change in the SPI memory speed to support non Raspberry clone boards. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
I don't recall that. Whatever it is, it appears to have happened since b30 and is not PicoMite VGA specific, the performance on the regular PicoMite also appears to be significantly screwed. I hope Peter hasn't expended all his magic. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
Are more cycles being consumed generating the higher PWM frequencies at higher cpuspeeds? I never had a chance to test the later betas in that flurry of PLAY SOUND activity. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4253 |
There where clone boards that would not run higher than 200MHz. I suggested to try to lower the spi memory clock. Maybe the memory device speed was the culprit. This change was made in b24. This may have caused the problem. And nobody confirmed it did fix the problem on the clone boards. Maybe this can be reversed. Peter? Please? Volhout. Edited 2023-04-19 06:50 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9137 |
For normal processing (solar eclipse calculation) 5.07.07 is marginally faster that 5.07.06 on the Picomite and 10% slower on the VGA version due to memory savings. If you are seeing bigger differences than that you need to identify the specific commands that are slower |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
I think it could easily be 30+% slower at the higher CPU speeds, and since we've seen it in Pico Frogger and Lazer Cycle but no-one has noticed elsewhere I'm suspicious of PLAY SOUND / PWM. Otherwise, if you don't have any inspiration, then I suspect I will have to find the culprit by binary chop. I don't suppose you have backups of the betas, otherwise I'll have to re-build them from source . Best wishes, Tom Edited 2023-04-19 07:27 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3815 |
I have quite a few. May well be "many". If you can say which ones you need it would help avoid uploading them all! Also, where to upload to? John Edited 2023-04-19 07:50 by JohnS |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3152 |
I have these if you know what you want (probably more on my old laptop) PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
Thanks Lance, but I think John is going to help me out. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
okwatts Regular Member Joined: 27/09/2022 Location: CanadaPosts: 59 |
For what it is worth I have been using this program as a test to run on various versions of computers as a means of benchmarking. This is adapted for MMBasic This is for the default speeds might be more fair if set to 252MHz for all. ' Mandelbrot ASCII from BBCBasic Gordon Henderson 'Option EXPLICIT 'Option DEFAULT NONE ' A BASIC, ASCII MANDELBROT ' ' This implementation copyright (c) 2019, Gordon Henderson ' ' Permission to use/abuse anywhere for any purpose granted, but ' it comes with no warranty whatsoever. Good luck! ' C$ = ".,'~=+:;[/<&?oxOX# " : Rem 'Pallet' Lightest to darkest... SO = 1 : Rem Set to 0 if your MID$() indexes from 0. MI = Len(C$) MX = 4 LS = -2.0 TP = 1.25 XS = 2.5 YS = -2.5 W = 64 H = 48 SX = XS / W SY = YS / H Timer =0 For Y = 0 To H CY = Y * SY + TP For X = 0 To W CX = X * SX + LS ZX = 0 ZY = 0 CC = SO notdone: X2 = ZX * ZX Y2 = ZY * ZY If CC > MI Then GoTo printit If (X2 + Y2) > MX Then GoTo printit T = X2 - Y2 + CX ZY = 2 * ZX * ZY + CY ZX = T CC = CC + 1 GoTo notdone printit: Print Mid$(C$, CC - SO, 1); Next Next Print (Timer) / 1000 End For the versions I have used these are the results Speed Testing using ASCII Mandelbrot on MMBasic Unit under test MMB Version Time (Sec) Memory Free after running Program Ram Picomite serial 5.07.06 9.406 115K 146K (clone 16MB) 5.07.07RC2 9.04 127K 154K 5.07.07RC4 9.07 127K 154K PicoMiteVGA 5.07.06 10.28 99K 130K 5.07.07RC2 12.81 99K 126K 5.07.07RC4 12.84 99K 126K PicoWeb 5.07.07a21 12.47 5.07.07a25 13.107 83K 108K 5.07.07a29 12.8 79K 104K 5.07.07b2 12.59 79K 104K 5.07.07b4 12.67 79K 104K 5.07.07RC2 13.29 79K 104K 5.07.07RC4 14.09 79K 104K Edited 2023-04-19 08:49 by okwatts |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9137 |
The one command that is definitely much slower is PLAY SOUND. This change eliminated the pops when moving from a sound to silence or another type of sound on a channel. I can easily reverse this but the pops will be back. |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9137 |
V5.07.07RC5 https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip Various bug fixes to file handling edge cases Improved performance of PLAY SOUND when left and right channels are the same New parameter for OPTION SYSTEM I2C OPTION SYSTEM I2C sdapin, sclpin [,SLOW/FAST] By default the I2C port is opened at a speed of 400KHz and with a 100mSec timeout. The I2C frequency can be set using the optional third parameter which can take the values FAST = 400KHz or SLOW = 100KHz |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
Thanks Peter, I will give it a spin during my coffee break. 1. Does it include the two-line fix to MM.CMDLINE$ that I posted previously ? 2. Personally if that were the choice I'd rather have the performance (and the pops) back. They went largely unnoticed (or at least uncommented upon) by the shedders until I started messing with a tinny squeaker and if all else fails I would return to my two 16R buzzer solution which didn't display the issue for my project. 3. If you did revert then would the external DAC exhibit the same pops ? It (8-bit version) and my other components have arrived, though (if I can make so arrogant a claim) I'm trying to focus my free-time on "Q/A" of the PicoMite for the moment. 4. The manual documents PLAY SOUND (on 4 channels) to use ~23% of the CPU time: - Was this proportional to the fixed 133 MHz and thus would only represent ~12% of the time at 252 MHz and ~8% of the time at 378 MHz ? - Did this proportion at the faster CPU speeds change when in a recent update you increased the carrier frequency at the faster CPU speeds ? 5. I don't think this is the significant factor so I'm only offering it as an observation, but for memory reasons you switched the PicoMite VGA back to linear function name lookup (from hash-table). Have you considered sorting the function names and then using a binary-search for the lookup instead ? Best wishes, Tom Edited 2023-04-19 19:07 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9137 |
1. No. Forgot 2. Try latest and see what effect 3. Yes. It is the change of level which creates the pops 4. No idea 5. Not a major impact so not worth pursuing |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4047 |
No improvement that I can observe, let me bisect the betas and find out at what revision the issue started. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4253 |
Tested on picofrog VGA 5.07.07 beta 28 is still fast. So no need to check anything before b28. This also means that the SPI memory bus speed is not the causing this (introduced in b24). I have no images anymore on my system between b28 and RC4. Just 2 days ago cleaned up the whole history (I had a list similar to lizby) since I was confident we where at the end of this development cycle .... wrong ... Regards, Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Page 4 of 13 |
Print this page |