Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 10:45 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PICO PETSCII

     Page 35 of 38    
Author Message
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 509
Posted: 11:45am 26 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Harm,
In answer to your question about controllers.
I'm not a great game player, so currently I'm only using laptop keyboard and alternatively the buttons on the GameMite.
For the keyboard everything seems good, the only thing I have to do, is remove the key delay, before auto repeat cuts in, otherwise when you hold a key down, for say player movement, he'll move one square then pause, then move smoothly after that, so nothing your game can do about that.
For the buttons on the GameMite, all fine, no key bounce or anything strange, they behave very well, so I can only assume it's a problem of that NES controller.
I have now splashed out on £10 Ebay Wii Classic controller, mainly because Peter built the driver into his firmware, but I haven't got round to working out how to connect it, or produce a key map for it.
Regards Kevin.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 12:13pm 26 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Some of those NES controllers that Tom got are pretty rough. The switches themselves seem to work ok (considering what they are), but the mechanical system could be a lot better. I was lucky in that he sent me a couple that seem to be ok. I tried reducing the delay in the clocking loop and was getting some pretty fast reads!

I don't know how the control system is being done here, but the WII reads the (I2C) controllers during the frame flyback period so it's synchronous with the display.
Edited 2023-11-26 22:15 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 08:37am 27 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

For my NES controllers (the 4021 homebrew, and the cheap china thing) this timing works better:

1/ in the setup loop the menu item selection
2/ the move item in the game (b.t.w. the move item is a dirty hack, a pause 50 ... oooohhh ... in a game loop this is as bad as a GOTO in a program).

Volhout

pet25b.zip
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 09:37am 27 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  
1/ in the setup loop the menu item selection
2/  a pause 50 ... oooohhh ... in a game loop this is as bad as a GOTO in a program).

Volhout
Why?
in 25b Map Selection and Difficulty is near to impossible to choose with the Controller
Edited 2023-11-27 19:38 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 09:52am 27 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ok, skip pet25b.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 09:03pm 28 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Martin,

See if this is better. I f*cked up with pet25b.
Now the "pause" is gone, and I can select diffuculty and maps without problem.

I played a complete level with NES (EASY mode). So it should be usable.

Regards,

Volhout
pet25b2.zip
Edited 2023-11-29 07:05 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 06:08am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  Hi Martin,

See if this is better. I f*cked up with pet25b.
Now the "pause" is gone, and I can select diffuculty and maps without problem.

I played a complete level with NES (EASY mode). So it should be usable.

Regards,

Volhout
pet25b2.zip


The Mod metal_heads-sfx was not part of the Pet25 Installation Package ;-)
some little changes
If you use a Game*Mite, nesPG1 should always be 0, regardless of what was previously set:

' system setup -----------------------------------------------------
 Option default integer
 Const Game_Mite=1-(MM.Device$="PicoMiteVGA")
 nesPG1=1
 If Game_Mite Then
   sc$="f":init_game_ctrl ' Init Controller on Game*Mite
   nesPG1=0
 Else
   sc$="n":MODE 2
 EndIf
 If nesPG1 Then
   config_nes
 EndIf


To ensure that the sfx are also possible in the start menu, the declaration should take place beforehand:

'game configuration screen show on N ------------------------
 init_map_support
 preload_sfx
 show_intro


 'start of the actual game -----------------------------------
 CLS
 'get world map
 loadworld


Three Times in startmenu when a Keypress is recognized, add
Play modsample s_beep -2,4
k$=Inkey$:If k$="" Then k$=c2k$()
     If k$<>"" Then
       Play modsample s_beep -2,4

(-2 because I messed up to put the beep sample in the right slot at metal_heads-sfx )

also in startmenu
when Mapnames are displayed:

text 9,70,"                "
Text 9,70,UCase$(map_nam$(Map_Nr))

Edited 2023-11-29 16:23 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 06:21am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Martin,

I originally left nesPG1 separate, since there was a parallel lcd game mite design evolving with serial key input. But that would require a different key and pin assignment. So Lets lock nesPG1 to VGA.
I can make your suggested changes in pet25c.

Volhout

P.S. would it be better to wait for "get_psyched-sfx.mod" before I bring out a new baseline? Since you where missing "metal_heads-sfx.mod"which I provided in the pet25b.zip others may have the same problem. It may be best to distribute from now on the whole game each time ?
Edited 2023-11-29 17:08 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 07:32am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  Hi Martin,

I originally left nesPG1 separate, since there was a parallel lcd game mite design evolving with serial key input. But that would require a different key and pin assignment. So Lets lock nesPG1 to VGA.
I can make your suggested changes in pet25c.

Volhout

P.S. would it be better to wait for "get_psyched-sfx.mod" before I bring out a new baseline? Since you where missing "metal_heads-sfx.mod"which I provided in the pet25b.zip others may have the same problem. It may be best to distribute from now on the whole game each time ?


I played Level 1 "Easy"  .. Nice
It runs a little smoother with h_beat=100 on VGA and Game*Mite
All in all, it's a real game.Is there anything missing in the game mechanics?

Good Job  

PS: My SNES controller clone arrived yesterday. (hopefully working with all buttons)
I need to figure out how to connect it to the game board, then I'll add the controls
Edited 2023-11-29 17:36 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 07:59am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

A new baseline...
I hope I missed nothing. I also put h_beat=100.

petrobot25c.zip

I don't think there is anything missing in the game mechanics. But I need to play complete levels on DOS and see if there is anything the MMBasic version does different, or can't do. You last found "blowing up a plant", and "kill yourself in the TC". Such things....

Volhout

P.S. changing h_beat=100 will change the timing also. EMP will only last 2.5 seconds in stead of 3 seconds. If we want to keep this, I may have to tune some timing values in the game.
Edited 2023-11-29 18:10 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 09:06am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I found this Site SNES2Atari
Connection looks like on the Game Board so I will test it


'no comment
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4042
Posted: 09:54am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Martin H. said  I found this Site SNES2Atari
Connection looks like on the Game Board so I will test it...


Hi Martin,

I've not had my coffee this morning and thus may have my eyes in the wrong way round, but that diagram looks like complete twaddle.

I suggest looking at the schematic for the PicoGAME VGA since that is what you are connecting to:

   https://github.com/thwill1000/pico-game-vga/blob/main/hardware/v2.0/Circuit.pdf

On the DB9:

   Pin 2 = Data
   Pin 3 = Latch
   Pin 4 = Clock
   Pin 6 = +3v3
   Pin 8 = GND

EDIT: From your link:

The SNES2Atari is an adapter that allows you to connect an SNES controller to the Atari 7800 console, Atari 2600 console, the Atari 8-bit computer line, and likely many other platforms that have a DB9 joystick port and can use Atari joysticks. Games must be specifically coded to use the SNES controller.

I think that the underlined sentence means that they just "made sh*t up" whereas the port on the PicoGAME VGA  conforms to that used by "standard clone" controllers.

EDIT 2: Some correct third-party documentation:

   https://www.nesdev.org/wiki/Controller_port_pinout

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-11-29 20:18 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 10:12am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Martin,

Try running the SNES from 3.3V also. Maybe that works and avoids the level shifting.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4042
Posted: 10:17am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  @Martin,

Try running the SNES from 3.3V also. Maybe that works and avoids the level shifting.

Volhout


And if you would pop it open and post a photo that would be great, I'm curious if it is one of those with a micro controller in it (in which case 3v3 probably insufficient), or a "proper" shift-register based one (in which case I am hopeful for 3v3).

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-11-29 20:18 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 10:56am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  
  Volhout said  @Martin,

Try running the SNES from 3.3V also. Maybe that works and avoids the level shifting.

Volhout


And if you would pop it open and post a photo that would be great, I'm curious if it is one of those with a micro controller in it (in which case 3v3 probably insufficient), or a "proper" shift-register based one (in which case I am hopeful for 3v3).

Best wishes,

Tom



As you can see, there are no keys in parallel here, so I assume a full assignment
However, that was the last time I unscrewed it just to take pictures of it. That is all too fragile and if I can't get it back together, then I'll have to wait another 2 weeks   for a replacement. Even it was from Amazone this time
Edited 2023-11-29 21:00 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4042
Posted: 11:01am 29 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Martin H. said  However, that was the last time I unscrewed it just to take pictures of it. That is all too fragile and if I can't get it back together, then I'll wait 2 weeks again for a replacement


If you've broken it beyond repair on my request then let me know and I'll PayPal you the funds.

That looks like one of the ones I have, based on an unlabeled micro-controller; that 16 pin IC doesn't have enough pins to be the minimum 12-bit shift-register required for a "proper" SNES gamepad.

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-11-29 21:47 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 06:52am 30 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  A new baseline...

I don't think there is anything missing in the game mechanics. But I need to play complete levels on DOS and see if there is anything the MMBasic version does different, or can't do. You last found "blowing up a plant", and "kill yourself in the TC". Such things....

Volhout

P.S. changing h_beat=100 will change the timing also. EMP will only last 2.5 seconds in stead of 3 seconds. If we want to keep this, I may have to tune some timing values in the game.

Volhout,

Regardless of lack of music or controller options.

For my oppinion  this version should go out as BETA / RC and should be tested from as many people as possible. So much testing time can't be spent by one or two people. Especially since we, as programmers, are probably still operationally blind, because we know in the back of our minds how the program reacts.
Here we really need people who know the game from other systems, have fun with the game and can name differences.
For comparison, the DOS Version

Cheers
Mert!n
Based on the feedback, we can find out what we still need to work on, or whether we have to live with certain systemic limitations.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 08:11am 30 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Agree !
We can start a new thread, with this version (petrobot25c) as the BETA.
I will make preparations..

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
IanRogers

Senior Member

Joined: 09/12/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 151
Posted: 08:47am 30 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've been watching with some interest.
Volholt / Martin

This isn't just "downloading" the basic file. There are libraries and mod files.
Can you explain " think of it like I'm a school kid" how to get all the files and where in the pico they should go.

Drive A? SD?  if I'm confused so will others that are keen to try!
Cheers
I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 09:10am 30 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Ian,

See new thread. It should have all you need.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 35 of 38    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024