Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteWEB V5.07.07a24+ - Now with TFTP
Page 3 of 5 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
twofingers Guru Joined: 02/06/2014 Location: GermanyPosts: 1245 |
You are right, John! Now I have to replace all "\" with "\\". causality ≠ correlation ≠ coincidence |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3152 |
I know the PicoMiteWeb supports MQTT for IoT-type communication, but for many years now I have used TCP or UDP messages--received with nc or netcat on an accumulator device. Does the PicoMiteWeb support sending these? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9139 |
Or use / |
||||
twofingers Guru Joined: 02/06/2014 Location: GermanyPosts: 1245 |
Correct, that's what I thought too. Thank you for that suggestion! causality ≠ correlation ≠ coincidence |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
I sometimes use the old fashioned activity indicator. I thought I would test it with the new escape sequences. If I run this without doubling up the \ character, the pico reboots. ' DO INC p :PRINT CHR$(8)+MID$("|/-\|/-\",(p MOD 8)+1,1); PAUSE 500 LOOP It is the \ as the last character of the string that the pico doesn't like. even a line like: fred$ = "fred\" is enough to lock up and require a reboot. Jim Edited 2023-03-15 07:13 by TassyJim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Andrew_G Guru Joined: 18/10/2016 Location: AustraliaPosts: 847 |
G'day all, Pico-W version a25 is working well for me - thanks Peter! I only want to access NTP and Openweather. I'm trying to incrementally add to my program and I am at the stage of testing its response to a dodgy WiFi connection (I'm STILL living in a hotel and its WiFi is quite flaky at times). 1) How can I simulate a bad WiFi connection? I've put the whole shebang into a large, thick stainless steal pot (with a s/s lid) and it doesn't falter (and I can't get at the hotel's WiFi to power it down). 2) My code is below. Should that identify that there was a connection problem but then carry on? Cheers, Andrew Sub Get_NTP local string TempDate, TempTime local Integer Tmp ' NTP Timeout loop by TassyJim Tmp = 0 TempDate = Date$'Preserve values in case NTP fails (old values OK for now) 'ZZZTempTime = TIME$ DATE$ = "01-04-2000" DO ON ERROR SKIP WEB NTP TZone+DST,"au.pool.ntp.org" 'DST = 0 or 1 via OW 'Timezone' if MM.ERRMSG$ <> "" then print MM.ERRMSG$; " skipped" Print Date$; " ";Time$ Else Exit Do End If IF DATE$ = "01-04-2000" THEN PRINT "NTP Timed out. Tmp = ";Tmp PRINT #1, "NTP Timed out" End If INC Tmp LOOP UNTIL DATE$ <>"01-04-2000" OR Tmp > 4 If Tmp > 4 then DAte$ = TempDate 'ZZZTIME$ = TempTime print Date$; " "; Time$; " retained" End if 'WEB CLOSE TCP CLIENT 'ZZZ is this needed? End Sub 'Get_NTP |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
Andrew, I am still experimenting but currently I rely on a WATCHDOG and AUTO RUN This usually lets the pico come back up within 30 seconds when it falls over. The (good) problem is, I am not having many reboots now so it is slow work testing the various methods. Peter is adding features quicker than I can test fully. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Andrew_G Guru Joined: 18/10/2016 Location: AustraliaPosts: 847 |
Thanks Jim. I am just amazed that it works inside a s/s pot - so much for worrying about the effects of being shielded by an LCD! Andrew |
||||
phil99 Guru Joined: 11/02/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2141 |
Could the power cable be picking up the WiFi and carrying it in/out of the pot and reradiating it? If you are using a battery and have no wires going in then it is surprising that enough can get between the lid and the pot. |
||||
Andrew_G Guru Joined: 18/10/2016 Location: AustraliaPosts: 847 |
Jim, So you wouldn't bother with any of the 'ON ERROR . . ' stuff and just put a short watchdog timer in each of the DO-LOOPs. That is what I've done just now and after 2 hours its restarted once - without any problems (still in the cooking pot). I have to use the pot in an hour or two for dinner. Phil, I'm running it off USB to the PC, with the USB as the console. With the lid fully closed and off a battery I cant see what it is doing? Or do you have a cunning plan? Cheers, Andrew |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
Watchdog in the loop but not too short. This internet stuff can be slow. Re the pot, to get a good Faraday shield, you really need two pot, one inside the other and no connection between the two. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
phil99 Guru Joined: 11/02/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2141 |
"With the lid fully closed and off a battery I cant see what it is doing?" Have the program continually update a web page with the time. View the page in a browser. If the displayed time stops ticking over when you put the lid on the signal is blocked. |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
Running a25 and playing with telnet. PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.07a25 OPTION CPUSPEED (KHz) 250000 OPTION WIFI hoth_e, ********** OPTION TCP SERVER PORT 80, 10000 OPTION TELNET CONSOLE ON I noticed that when the pico is sending end-of-line, instead of '0d 0a', we get '0d 00 0a' More important, I can do a list all, option list etc no worries. FILES on the USB connection is OK but FILES through the Telnet causes an instant system lockup. It works when there are only a few files but doesn't like a page full. Edit: I think it is the zero bytes in the '0d 00 0a' that is upsetting my file manager. Jim Edited 2023-03-16 16:43 by TassyJim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9139 |
This is correct for telnet. The receiver has to strip them. Also look up the "255" character. This is also a special case that needs dealing with |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
This is correct for telnet. The receiver has to strip them. Also look up the "255" character. This is also a special case that needs dealing with OK, I can filter them out. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9139 |
Jim See this thread |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
A few years ago I tried to work out what advantages Telnet had over a plain data stream and decided it wasn't worth the effort. I will have to take another look. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
Making progress with Telnet friendly XMODEM. I have a timing issue that makes transfers incredibly slow to get started. Once past the first packet, speed is as it should be. I need more time to investigate. Any sane user would install/activate TFTP and use that instead of XMODEM. I have MMEdit's file manager talking to TFTP reliably. One problem I have found. When you close a Telnet session, either TeraTerm or MMEdit, one minute later the picoW reboots. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Hans Senior Member Joined: 18/10/2022 Location: CanadaPosts: 116 |
One problem I have found. When you close a Telnet session, either TeraTerm or MMEdit, one minute later the picoW reboots. Jim I have also found that it will erase whatever is in the editor when it does. I have tried 3 different Telnet clients and they all exibit the same issue, BY TIMES. No clue what's up with that!?!? The solution for me was to set OPTION AUTORUN 1 and to exit with CPU RESTART, I am also running a WATCHDOG timer to restart. Hans ... |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
When you close a Telnet session, either TeraTerm or MMEdit, one minute later the picoW reboots. I should add, trying to monitor the pico through the USB port stops the pico from rebooting. Until you disconnect the pico USB link (not the power, just the software link). Then it reboots immediately if the telnet one minute has been reached. VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Page 3 of 5 |
Print this page |