Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 22:05 23 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : V6.00.00RC5 will be the release unless you tell me ortherwise

     Page 2 of 3    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 01:29pm 10 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  An updated PicoCFunctions.h is attached.


Many thanks - will package with the release
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4222
Posted: 09:52am 12 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

I did not find time to go through all ,but I tested a few, and they work. Even the "heap-hungry" MMBasic chess program worked. Where you able to restore the heap size ?

Regards,

Volhout
Edited 2024-11-12 19:52 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Supertech

Newbie

Joined: 13/11/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Posted: 03:25am 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V6.00.00RC5

1st, Thanks to all involved in this release.

This may seem trivial,but,

Gwbasic, re manual R3 authored by Geoff,

Has a known command found in other languages.

Put simple, it is called "Inc" meaning 'incremental' the equivalent of,
E.g,

Z = z + 1

Used simply as

Inc z

However, up until V5.08 and its manual of revision 3 (R3 above),
This "Inc" command doesn't exist anywhere in earlier MicroMites, nor does it work in Webmite I'm using. In fact as if not implemented in firmware from beginning?

To add to this, in other programming languages there is "Inc" & "Dec", meaning, "Inc"  means 'increment' or
Add, while "Dec" means 'decrement' or Sybtract.
Sort of like shorthand for Gwbasic.

While this may be trivial,
1. Has anybody used it to find as I have, it dosent, in V5.08 or the current Geoff web page offer of v5.08 firmware,
2. It is NOT trivial because if needed when needed, makes for A. Faster coding, B. Easier to read, understand & C. Shorter codes!

So Matherp,
1. Has ANYONE noticed or even used "Inc" to even see if it exists or works?
2. I haven't had chance to see if "Inc" works in V6.00.00RC5 yet, but note you shortly going to make it final, so ask  to test "Inc" given I not seen any comments about it?

3. Can we have this checked and rectified.
Even "Dec" as above would be nice, although not generally in Gwbasic, but IS in Basic language by my memory, found in Picaxe series, that supports a more powerful Basic command set, really what should be being used.
4. Matherp, just on point, this is not a request to add "Inc" rather a fact it is there non-functional in V5.08, which is published functionality. I do have others, as time permits will add, mostly major errors in manual vs actual function of those commands.

Regards.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2134
Posted: 03:55am 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 6.00.00RC15 and
WebMite MMBasic Version 6.00.00RC15
> a = 1.234 : inc a : ? a
2.234
> a = 1.234 : inc a,-1 : ? a
0.234
> a = 1.234 : inc a,42 : ? a
43.234
> a = 1.234 : inc a,4.4 : ? a
5.634
> a = 1.234 : inc a,-1.234 : ? a
0
>
No DEC but no need.
  PicoMite 5.08 manual said  INC var [,increment]
Increments the variable “var” by either 1 or, if specified, the value in increment. “increment” can have a negative. This is functionally the same as
var = var + increment
but is processed much faster
Has been in the PicoMite manuals since V5.07.03 but the MicroMite doesn't have it. Whether it can be added will depend on a free command slot being available.

Can be used for multiplying by 2 or left shifting by one (if Var is an integer) as it is slightly faster.
> a = 1.234 : inc a,a : ? a
2.468
> a = 1.234 : ? a * 2
2.468
>  a = 1.234 : ? a << 1
2
>


A new set of manuals is under construction.
@Mixtel90 has assembled the changes since V5.08 manuals were published in ."MMBasic catchup.pdf"

If you have found anything that is not in that post it here before the next set of manuals is finalised if you want it included.
Edited 2024-11-13 15:44 by phil99
 
Supertech

Newbie

Joined: 13/11/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Posted: 02:42pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks phil99.

The Inc I refer as dysfunctional is specific to Webmite or if you like Rasbury Pi Pico W which I run a html served project on as I type via V5.08 as in Geoff site offical firmware.

The project is very good stable in its role applied. In fact so good, I'm quite stunned what it's achieving.

I forgot Inc can be reversed (given I can't use it, not working! Out of manual applied to Webmite, yes via TJ mmedit latest in Webmite syntax, fails even live editing PIC itself) of course negating Dec you rightly say, good point. As I never used other device, I never went looking for Inc command elsewhere.

I let Geoff know I also collected and now spreadsheeted the raft of R3 Manual errors, yes there is a number, and advised I wanted to send this to him, but he said to post it on here TBS forum.
But you just gave me who is dealing with manual, but I have no idea how to send it to an Individual member yet, or perhaps trail subject they within? Where I find this forum a pain to navigate.
I think mixel99? Thank you so much for that by the way!
It might surprise some of the errors already in R3 manual, which I note in my .BAS project as I find them! Then paste to spread sheet ive made to help everyone.
So sorry my ignorance, can you direct me to mixell99? I'd like these corrected and some are quite bad, perhaps not even noticed.
As a very long term programmer, the manual also has very serious presentation correlation issues.

Regards. Supertech.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6771
Posted: 02:58pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi, Supertech

My "MMBasic Catchup" is just a collection of clips from posts that matherp has made since the 5.08 manual was released. I'm not involved in compiling the manuals in any way, it's just something to remind myself and others of what's been happening.

Geoff is in charge of the manuals. He attempts to keep up with matherp. ;)

The best place to post your manual corrections is probably "PicoMite V6.00.00 release candidates - all versions". This thread is intended for fault finding prior to the V6 release.

Can anyone replicate the problem with INC on the Webmite?

.
Edited 2024-11-14 01:01 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4222
Posted: 03:38pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

In RC15 there is not cursor in the build in editor.
RP2040 VGA PS2

Regards,

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 03:59pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks - fixed
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6094
Posted: 08:35pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  
Can anyone replicate the problem with INC on the Webmite?

.


No issues here.
INC works as expected on WEBmite V6 RC9 and RC15.
I don't remember any issues with INC on V5x either.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2134
Posted: 08:41pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As Jim said Inc is correct on the WebMite.
My previous post shows it working on the WebMite.
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2112
Posted: 10:01pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

no problem with inc a,-12. negative values fine. but where is inc in the vga manual?
a=100
inc a,2*-10
? a
80
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6094
Posted: 10:52pm 13 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  stanleyella said   but where is inc in the vga manual?

Page 75 in the VGA V5.08 manual
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2112
Posted: 12:00am 14 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said  
  stanleyella said   but where is inc in the vga manual?

Page 75 in the VGA V5.08 manual

true. I did look under i but missed it.must of seen it before or I not used it and negative values.
 
Pause
Newbie

Joined: 13/11/2024
Location: Cuba
Posts: 1
Posted: 09:06pm 14 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The Msgbox command is not present.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2134
Posted: 09:49pm 14 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Assuming you are talking about the WebMite, that is correct.
The web functions consume so much of the available resources that all the advanced graphic controls for an attached display have been omitted. Compare the WebMite and PicoMite manuals to see the difference.

However you can construct the ones you need with the regular Drawing and Text commands.

For a browser display the your HTML file will contain all the graphic stuff and the browser does the work.
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 07:04pm 16 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Why can't I execute the FILES command from the program in any form?
[3] Files
Error : Invalid in a program

[3] Execute "Files"
Error : Invalid in a program

At the same time, other commands are executed normally, for example,
EXECUTE "MEMORY"

or simply
MEMORY
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 08:01pm 16 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

When asked for information about the status of the SD card, it responds with an error if it is not activated.
print MM.Info$(SDCARD)
Error : SDcard not configured

Although the manual says:
  Quote  MM.INFO$(SDCARD)
Returns the status of the SD Card. Valid returns are:
DISABLED, NOT PRESENT, READY, and UNUSED
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2134
Posted: 08:54pm 16 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Error : SDcard not configured
That error usually means OPTION SDCARD has not been set. What does Option List show?

  Quote  Why can't I execute the FILES command from the program in any form?
I think Peter said it uses too much memory.

To see if anyone has a work-around enter this in your browser:-
site: thebackshed.com "FILES command"
Edited 2024-11-17 07:02 by phil99
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6771
Posted: 08:55pm 16 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

FILES
Probably because you can't do anything with what's returned, it's merely sent to the screen. DIR$ returns meaningful results.

MM.INFO(SDCARD)
The error message is right in a way, I think. Unless the SDcard driver can be queried this command can't work. The driver can't be queried unless OPTION SDCARD has been run. Unfortunately I don't think the manual mentions what each of the possible return messages actually means. Hmmm...
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 06:14pm 17 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PicoMiteVGA/HDMI MMBasic USB RP2350A Edition V6.00.00RC15
If you run a program with the command EXECUTE "commands" that stops on scrolling text, the system reboots.
For example
EXECUTE "LIST COMMANDS"

Before this it worked on the v60000RC12 version because the list of commands was shorter, but this is a bug and was present there too.
In general, I would like to have a normally working EXECUTE command to execute the entered commands in the application.
Edited 2024-11-18 04:23 by javavi
 
     Page 2 of 3    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024