Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Pico Board makers - give me your options
Page 2 of 3 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
However it's implemented I like the idea. Especially when you are asking someone to type the OPTION AUDIO VS1053 string. :) OPTION RESET [<board_name>] works well for me. It's elegant. And yes, I should have included the following in my entries: OPTION PLATFORM "PicoGAME4" OPTION CPUSPEED 252000 Thanks for reminding me Tom. :) I don't know about MODBUFF? I've not knowingly used it to date. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9114 |
Tom Please test the following OPTION RESET gamemite Note the lack of the *. It will be in the option platform but can't be used in the command as it gets tokenised For fun I've set the touch calibration and am interested how good it is on another display PicoMite.zip |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4037 |
I will try and test this evening Peter, a change in circumstances means that there is now a clearer distinction between my work and play ... posting on TBS excluded. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-03-19 21:59 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
it would actually be super easy to implement, barely an inconvenience. just follow these simple instructions. keep everything exactly as it currently is, but just before displaying the signon message ("PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.08.00 [...]") do the following: 1. read in the A:OPTIONS.CFG file, 2. parse the file and calculate what the configuration memory should contain, 3. compare the calculated configuration bytes to the actual (in flash) configuration bytes, 4. if any differences are found, rewrite the configuration bytes in flash with the just calculated valued and reboot. added points for: A. ensuring that the file A:OPTIONS.CFG can not be accidentally deleted, perhaps even only allowing it to be edited with the built-in editor, B. early on in the bootup sequence configuring GPIO25 as an input with a weak pulldown, then reading back the pin's state - if it reads as HIGH then use a default set of options rather than those held in flash; this (may) allow a 470 ohm resistor pulling TP5 high to be used as a signal to bypass a dud set of options without needing to reload the firmware. cheers, rob :-) Edited 2024-03-19 22:43 by robert.rozee |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
That might fall over as at boot up there is no OS to read A:. There may be no way to read it before the sign-on message as reading A: is a function of MMBasic, which has to be running... Even if you can, the system will have to reboot if there are *any* changes to the file so that the new option(s) can be used. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
well, that would be the whole point of the exercise! |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
But, as Peter said, you run the risk of continual uncontrolled reboots in the event of a misconfigured or corrupted file. Aside from any programming difficulties, the existing system works well. This latest idea gives a useful addition to it without changing the whole boot concept. Sometimes the KISS principal is the best idea. . Edited 2024-03-20 00:42 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4228 |
Peter, The more I think about it, the more I see complications everywhere. Maybe it is best to drop the idea. Leave it as is. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
you already run exactly the same risks if an incorrect OPTION line is entered, so do not end up any worse off. at least with the picomite (of any variant) you can just enter the bootloader with a single button press and drop a clean .uf2 file onto it. as for the existing system, across all the picomite variations we seem to have accumulated dozens of options, some of which can not even be entered on a standard 80-column screen. it is currently, on all accounts, quite the quagmire. cheers, rob :-) |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
IMHO it depends on how it works. For me the ideal would be: enter OPTION RESET picogame4 That automatically fills in all the default options for that board, but the OPTION RESET line doesn't appear - it works like a command rather than an OPTION. It would be nice if there was an automatic OPTION LIST to show how things had been configured. You are then free to change any options that are listed by OPTION LIST as usual. I suspect this is the sort of thing Peter has in mind. The worst way would be to replace the system with a simple OPTION BOARD picogame4. That would be confusing and awkward. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9114 |
That's exactly how it will work That's always been there Exactly so Mick: I think your original backpack is worth supporting - can you suggest a name for it? Edited 2024-03-20 02:06 by matherp |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
PMBackpack? It never really had a name as such. I've got a version 2.1 in the pipeline but it's virtually identical - just an improved layout. OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18, GP19, GP16 OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, L, GP20, GP21, GP17 OPTION TOUCH GP14, GP15 OPTION SDCARD GP22 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4037 |
Seems to work, although OPTION COLOURCODE ON is also present. If (once you've pushed to GitHub) I hack handling the asterisk in "Game*Mite" as a special case will you accept that into the mainline ? Out by ~2mm on my 3.2" display and also perhaps more than the usual number of false positives (random dots with GUI TEST TOUCH) but that may well be the display. Touch on my 2.8" seems to be completely fritzed. Note whilst the Game*Mite is wired for touch I haven't made any use of it. Correct me if I'm wrong but I think you may have misunderstood Mick's suggestion that after an OPTION RESET [board] the firmware should automatically do an OPTION LIST ... but that may well not be possible given the PicoMite has to reboot for the options to take effect ... and if you are not using TeraTerm you lose connection at that point. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-03-20 05:13 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9114 |
I always set that - do you really want me to remove it? I can do it if you want - simple hack in tokenize No problem - I can just print the options before the reset |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
Just the list would be fine, Peter. And please don't let Tom talk you out of OPTION COLOURCODE ON. I always set it too. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4037 |
I always set that - do you really want me to remove it? No, it was just an observation. I don't have it myself since I rarely develop on the PicoMite itself, only if I encounter a bug that needs investigating. I can do it if you want - simple hack in tokenize Thanks, appearances to the contrary I don't try to create work for you. I personally wouldn't hack tokenize as that has more potential for undesirable side-effects. I was going to handle the * token as a special case in cmd_option() closer to the crime. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-03-20 19:50 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9114 |
Mick Can you point me at the details of the board you call "VGA BASIC" Are the designs on Geoff's site in the VGA construction pack defunct? In the PicoGame 4 you seem to be using SPI2 pins for the SDcard but in the wrong order - is this correct? Thanks Edited 2024-03-24 05:19 by matherp |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
The basic is in this thread. Link is to the Version 2 info. https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=16390&P=2#214293 It was originally a specific design to run Petscii Robots, requested by Volhout to send out as a demo board. It's a nice little board though IMHO. I don't think my design on Geoff's site is up to date. The PicoGAME 4 SD card connections are an accident. :) I suppose I *could* sort them out and get them correct, but that wasn't the original intention. :) ----------------------------- EDIT: Yes, I can tidy the SD card up on SPI2. It's now on OPTION SDCARD GP27, GP14, GP15, GP28 on version 1.02 of the board. I tend to just put the SD card on any convenient pins. That's how it ended up where it did. Edited 2024-03-24 07:15 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6786 |
Please can I add one more, Peter? Sweetie-Pi-coMite VGA It's a 50mm x 50mm board with WII connector, no USB. https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=16614&P=1#215911 OPTION RESET SweetiePi OPTION PLATFORM "SWEETIEPI" OPTION CPUSPEED 252000 OPTION PICO OFF OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP0, GP1 OPTION SDCARD GP29, GP3, GP4, GP2 OPTION AUDIO SPI GP5, GP6, GP7 OPTION VGA PINS GP14, GP10 Thanks. :) . Edited 2024-03-24 19:55 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9114 |
Mick Please see the new release thread and provide photos of the various boards so I can configure them in the firmware and attach the pictures |
||||
Page 2 of 3 |
Print this page |