Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : DDS frequency generator using PicoMite
Page 2 of 3 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6101 |
This is micromite specific and will cause grief. Check Kevin's code for a work-around. VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Yup! it did... wiped out the program memory I'm just going to read all about the different chips I can work out what it does, then make my own work round. Kevin just deleted those lines.. I want to know what they did. But as it points to internal program memory.... No idea. The interrupt generated just allows a touch to be recorded?? Edited 2023-04-28 23:06 by IanRogers I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
disco4now Guru Joined: 18/12/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 899 |
The Micromite on the PIC32MX170 chip does not have GUI commands so the Touch IRQ pin needs to have an interrupt set. The Peek(byte Peek(word &H9D000090) + 23) reads the configured T_IRQ pin used when the OPTION TOUCH command is given. See this thread for details. MM2 and MM+ Peeks The I/O pin used for touch IRQ (handy if you want to set an interrupt on touch) peek(byte peek(word &H9D000090) + 23) So "SetPin Peek(byte Peek(word &H9D000090) + 23), INTL, MyInt" is equivalent to GUI INTERRUPT MyInt if GUI commands are not available. Latest F4 Latest H7 |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Yep.. As a work around I tied the T_IRQ to pin GP11 and GP10. If I used setpin GP11 the picomite whinges the pin is a system pin So I used "setpin GP10 blah blah" and it worked.. I forgot I could just use the GUI interrupt LOL... My first Pico program was a GUI interface and I used it on that.. BUT!! that was a PicoW when PicoW was a no go!! So I bought a couple of normal pico's.. THEN!!! Peter pigging did the picoWeb.. When life gives you lemons... Chuck em in the bin, coz I hate lemons... I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Well Alrighty then. Must be something I'm doing. I have ordered and received ANOTHER! ILI9431 module ( same as backpack ) I can load okay, Screen works fine BUT!!! SD card write fails badly low level I/O fault But this line "save "myprog.bas" " removes the SD module completely and garbles the program. I disconnect, re-load the program via Jim's MM5 edit and it all works again. Just wondering what Could be the fault I have double checked all connections I did notice on this SD card the MISO has no resistor in series unlike all the other three. I may need to put a cap on the sdcard socket. Is it possible(Ill check this tomorrow), that the 5v comming from VBUS ( 5v ) is powering the SD? Normally I found that the SD cards are on 3v3.. I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9131 |
What version of the RP2040 are you using? Some of them don't have enough power for the ILI9341 and the SDcard. In my experience the black ones with the USB-C connector simply won't work but "genuine" picos do |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6803 |
The ILI9341 displays that I have have SMD resistors in series with signal lines to the SD card. These are a no-no with some SD cards. Link them out. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
So.. I need to supply more power to the SD?? I will remove the lil smd resistors and link them out. The PICO is a genuine green pico from PiHut. All my Pico's and PicoW's are from the PiHut. I do use a mini SD card with the adapter I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6803 |
Normally mini SD cards are ok. They seem to be a lot less fussy than the full size ones. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Some time ago, I used one of these screen modules with a pic. I couldn't get it to work at 3v3. I had bridged iy on the PCB as my system was 3v3.. Once I removed the link and powered from 5V it all came to life.. I suspect now the resistors are just pulling the current too low.. Ah well At least I have something to go on... Let you know tomorrow.. Today's a lazy day here in blighty.. BTW... Whats happened to the time on the forum here in UK... 3 hours adrift!! ON NO!! PM! loads.. Edited 2023-05-01 20:25 by IanRogers I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6803 |
Time? No idea.... Lost a lot of the concept of it when I retired. Brewtime, Dinnertime and Teatime are the important ones. :) (Having a lazy day...) Go to My Settings & Change Settings. Set the time to UTC (GMT)+1 'cos we are on BST. Edited 2023-05-01 21:46 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Cheers Mick You'd think I would know that one.. Now you can see why I'm struggling with the program. I have a pico connected to the Ardiuino milarky.. C++ I can do.. All day.. But this basic is a bit more involved that the olde speccy... I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Well!! Removed the three 1K resistors... SD card now fully operational on both display's Changed the program to use "GUI INTERRUPT Blah" Just waiting for said module and will report back. Thanks Mick... Just checking out the PSU.. Has anyone here made a lil' ESR meter? I could do with one... I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Ian, you may want to make it yourself but you can get a small MK-328 based handheld with a screen that does testing for ESR,Cap,resistance,transistor,diode and quite a bit more, all in one device. I bought one about three years ago and it's been pretty good - including the ESR bit. Prices seem to range around $30-$40 on e-bay,amazon,aliexpress etc but I also saw them on alibaba for $16 each for minimum quantity two. Just Google: "mk-328 tr\lcr\esr tester" Greg |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
If anyone could lend a pointer. As I said.. Ported the code perfectly. Thanks to Jim, Mick, Kevin and all others. @Kevin.. Sorry about NOT using your draft, but if I do it myself, I'll understand it far better. The question! I used the same function to detect touch but it didn't work I tried the pin route and the GUI route, but nada. If I get rid of the interrupt and use the olde' Do Until Touch(x) <> -1 works okay. What could be the problem with the T_irq? The pin is set up correctly? I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Does the "touch" interrupt only occur when you define a touch area? AD9833 just arrived... I carefully made sure the picture didn't show 1k res pack (102) Guess what.. I has them.. Another job todo... Edited 2023-05-04 01:11 by IanRogers I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6803 |
AFAIK it returns a result that depends on what you ask it. e.g. a = TOUCH(X) returns the x co0rdinate in a and b = TOUCH(Y) returns the y coordinate in b. If the screen isn't being touched it returns -1. It also has multiple uses in the advanced graphic controls, which is where you would define a touch area. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Cheers again Mick. Like I said, using the above works for me at the mo.. Once I hook up this module, I'll see whether it was worth it or not. Its just annoying when the manual says "GUI INTERRUPT Blah, Blah and the result isn't. I have a picoW on the table here that I program via the Arduino environment, and its talking to the web with no issue's at all, But I can program quite well in C/C++.. Why basic I hear you say. Coz I like to, say's I. I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9131 |
GUI INTERRUPT only works if you have the GUI commands enabled. Otherwise you can use setpin pinno, intl,myint as per the manual |
||||
IanRogers Senior Member Joined: 09/12/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 151 |
Thanks Peter... I'll just leave it as is as it works great.. I'm far from whinging.. What you and Geoff have done is nothing short of miraculous. Cheers I'd give my left arm to be ambidextrous |
||||
Page 2 of 3 |
Print this page |