Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteWeb lessons
Page 2 of 5 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Just in case it is the obvious there should be two d's in ipaddress. If that isn't the issue then I'm sure Peter would appreciate knowing what the error message actually is. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2023-02-27 22:05 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9130 |
? mm.info(ip address) |
||||
LucV Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 62 |
Stupid language barrier. In Dutch there is 1 d in address. Also one s but IU had that covered....... Thanks guys. Luc Luc's tech Blog |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
I have everything working OK except that Why do I get the line "String is GET/favicon.ico HTTP" I did have Peter's web page loaded but it is no longer on the Pico so where did this line come from? "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
LucV Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 62 |
Hello Again, Here is chapter 5 Not very exiting this time. Just a command to find your IP address easier and Peter's new code for starting the webserver. Two easy additions. Have fun. Chapter-05.pdf Luc Luc's tech Blog |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Do WEB tcp interrupt poll Loop Would be better, I think, to use Interruptlabel or ISR instead of poll. THX |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Sure, that WEB tcp interrupt poll is repeated over and over in the do loop? For my understanding, this is initialised once. Maybe I am totally wrong, did not test it. THX |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6101 |
WEB tcp interrupt serversubroutine should be used once, before the DO LOOP It would be better if the SUB was not named 'poll' because that sounds like it has to be polled. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Jim, thanks for your confirmation |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
Anyone got an answer to my above question and also when I first run the program I get an NTP timeout error, the second time it works OK. I think this was mentioned in Peter's thread but I can't find it. "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
LucV Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 62 |
Oops it's late over here. You are right. Was in the program but made a mistake in copying the previous code. Going to correct it tomorrow. Should indeed be: WEB tcp interrupt poll Do Loop The subroutine can be renamed to some other name. Luc Luc's tech Blog |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
Still got the NTP TIMEOUT problem, I tried a pause but that didn't work. "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
pwillard Senior Member Joined: 07/06/2022 Location: United StatesPosts: 292 |
I also have an issue with NTP timeout. I sort of wish we could define which NTP server we want to use. Edited 2023-03-01 09:13 by pwillard |
||||
TheMonkeys Regular Member Joined: 15/12/2022 Location: AustraliaPosts: 59 |
That's standard Browser behaviour. If you don't specifically provide an icon link for the page, it looks for "favicon.ico" by default. Once it gets the favicon, it won't ask/look again. Cheers, Chris. |
||||
Pluto Guru Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 359 |
Thanks Luc for the good lessons! ... and Peter for making everything possible. I got my first Pico W today and started to test with Peter's test programs. The easy part was to connect to the router and get NTP time and date. The difficult part was to get Pico to respond. Typing 192.168.8.187 in varoius browsers did not give any response. Changed a lot of WEB security settings.... Then I added OPTION TCP SERVER PORT 80 and everything functioned Luc, may I suggest that you add the "OPTION TCP SERVER PORT 80" to the starting chapter of your book. (Just to avoid that others struggle with the same mistake as me.) What I have experienced during a few hours of PicoMiteWEB is far above my expectations. Flash in the firmware, load the program with MMEdit+MMCC,Power On and connection is reliably established. (All in a very few minutes.) I haven't had the same "flow" with any of the ESP8266 modules in the past. In fact the stumbling started already at the firmware flashing with a myriade of code-parts to puzzle together (without having the puzzle-picture visible). /Pluto |
||||
LucV Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 62 |
Ok guys here is the next chapter. Nothing exciting this time. It covers the easy way to get your IP number, and the new WEB TCP interrupt call that replaces the poll command. Thanks to TassyJim I also incorporated his NTP timeout program that is usefull if you keep getting Timeout errors from your NTP server. Chapter-05.pdf If you find spelling mistakes or any other things that might enhance these chapters please PM me so I can make alterations or additions. Remember that English is not my native language and at this time I am working simultaneously with 4 languages (Basic, C++, Javascript and Python) so I am bound to make mistakes. Have fun, Luc Edited 2023-03-02 07:56 by LucV Luc's tech Blog |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
Hi Luc, You already sent Chapter-5 Edit....seems like an updated version Edited 2023-03-02 14:21 by palcal "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6101 |
Luc, I noticed that your screenshots of MMCC have a few missing settings. You should select 'picomite' as the device type. There are a number of things that this configures and users will have problems at times if this is not set correctly. Even though the standard picomite configuration uses USB and the baud rate doesn't matter, some users will elect to use the alternative serial port which does require the baudrate to be set. Having a baud rate set will also allow MMCC to make a few decisions so it is definitely preferable to have the rate set. I use 115200 but any rate other than 1200 will do. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Hello Luc, nice Job, thank you. Naming the ISR serverstart „WEB tcp interrupt serverstart“ should be avoided. The Server ist started on Top of the Program. The ISR is just the „Jump Vector“ when the Interrupt is fired up. This could lead to some misunderstandings, in special for Beginners, that will love your Chapters. Dietmar Edited 2023-03-02 20:50 by atmega8 |
||||
LucV Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 62 |
Here is the4 next chapter. In this chapter some real data is displayed on the webpage. To make things easy a random number is displayed and each time a different one. You can easily change this in a real sensor reading, button state etc. Have fun. Chapt-06.pdf Luc Luc's tech Blog |
||||
Page 2 of 5 |
Print this page |