Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PICO PETSCII
Page 18 of 38 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9129 |
Yes, I've also tested from the A: drive and have never had any problems. I'm trying to understand what is different about lizby's environment and he implied that he had tried to load from A: without an sd card ever having been connected. hence the question about xmodem |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
For avoidance of doubt that is the "PicoGAME VGA" platform by @Mixtel90 with some prodding by me, as opposed to the "Game*Mite" platform by me, @bigmik and @Turbo46. I'm hoping to see if I can reproduce the library loading problem myself today. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9129 |
OK I've re-created the library problem You cannot use xmodem to transfer a library bin file. It appends padding characters file size of original 90460 files size of xmodem transfer 90496 difference - 36 null characters which cause the problem |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Well done Peter, I would never have found it because my tooling removes those characters. Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Hi Lance, I've sent you an email about this. Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Excellent diagnosing. That fixed the "resetting" problem. Now I just have to get everything else in order. FYI, I have everything on the B: drive, nothing on A:. ~ Edited 2023-10-20 23:13 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1114 |
Kevin, I changed it a little that the path/File structure now fits to Volhouts post. LCDPET19.zip Cheers, Martin btw.. looks nice on the Game*Mite Edited 2023-10-21 01:03 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
Bleep Guru Joined: 09/01/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 512 |
Hi Martin & Volhout, Attached is pet19, modified so it should run on either VGA or LCD, using Volhouts latest zip file structure. All you need to do is change Game_Mite=1 to 0 for VGA at the top of the code. I have not been able to test it on a VGA. If you could test it, and incorporate the changes in your master, then, in theory it will work on either in the future. Regards, Kevin. pet19.bas for either VGA or LCD. lcdpet19.bas.zip |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4247 |
All, I have made the necessary changes. It is not yet perfect, but functional up to the same level as the pet19a.bas was. Put this in the same folder where pet19a.bas was working and run it. change: - all the sprites/player in layer L now are added to the UNIT array, and processed from there, also the hand and looking glass. Was fun with playing with the "transparent colors". The pistol and plasma fire has black background (they are tiles, not sprites). But all works perfect Peter !! - I have enabled the AI for the whole world map (no only viewable area). So if you bring up the map (TAB, TAB), you can see all the robots walk on that map....hihi... I still have to streamline update_player, and some sprite flicker a bit, but that is for later. Now the focus should be on really shooting something to destruction... Volhout pet20.zip Edited 2023-10-21 07:06 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1114 |
Kevin, Volhout, I added a little function to translate the Game*Mite Buttons to K$. Can be extended to fire directions "BUT-A UP " etc as you wish. (Like the A&B = TAB) 'Controller to Keyboard translation '---joystick/Gamepad specific settings ' Settings for Game*Mite Sub init_game_ctrl Local i% ' Initialise GP8-GP15 as digital inputs with PullUp resistors For i% = 8 To 15 SetPin MM.Info(PinNo "GP" + Str$(i%)), Din, PullUp Next End Sub Function contr_input$() If Not game_mite Then Contr_input$="":Exit Function Local n,ix% = Port(GP8, 8) Xor &h7FFF,cs$="",bit Local m$(7)=("DOWN","LEFT","UP","RIGHT","SELECT","START","BUT-B","BUT-A") ' which buttons are currently pressed For n=0 To 7 bit=2^n:If ix% And bit Then Inc cs$,m$(n)+" " Next Contr_input$=cs$ End Function '>>>>>>>NEW<<<<<<<<<< 'Controller to Keyboard translation Function c2k$() Local c$,tmp$ c$=contr_input$() If c$<>"" Then If c$="DOWN " Then c2k$=Chr$(129) If c$="UP " Then c2k$=Chr$(128) If c$="LEFT " Then c2k$=Chr$(130) If c$="RIGHT " Then c2k$=Chr$(131) If c$="BUT-A " Then c2k$=" " If c$="BUT-B " Then c2k$="z" If c$="START " Then c2k$="m" If c$="BUT-B BUT-A ")Then c2k$=Chr$(9) EndIf End Function just add this function call at the Position in the SourceCode, where Keyboard is read ... 'main player input loop ----------------------------------------- Do 'player input through keyboard, clearing buffer, check loop time k$="":Text 290,0,Right$("00"+Str$(Timer,3,0),3) Do tmp$=Inkey$ If tmp$<>"" Then k$=tmp$ 'keep last valid key Loop Until Timer>h_beat Timer =0 '>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>ADD HERE<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< If Game_Mite And k$="" Then k$=c2k$() '----------------------- ky=Asc(k$) 'player controls movement of player character also add it in the Intro then the Game*Mite gets mobile Edited 2023-10-21 14:58 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1114 |
Harm, Because I'm curious, I played it briefly. Cute If you have blocked the way of a bot with a chair, for example, it will also no longer move on the map sprite flickering: With the introduction of magenta as a transparent color, I had to inset a "erase the player's sprite before redrawing", otherwise, because of the up and down movement of the head, parts of the hair would remain as pixels. Erasing the players sprite, when moving, can be limited to one or two top lines, the rest is painted over by the new sprit then it will no longer flicker. Cheers Martin EDIT there was a typo in the listing of the function If c$="BUT-B BUT-A ")Then c2k$=Chr$(9) should be If c$="BUT-B BUT-A " Then c2k$=Chr$(9) Edited 2023-10-21 17:10 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9129 |
Just revisiting the library issue briefly Remember, 1: If you convert to FLASH DISK LOAD then there won't be an issue with xmodem as the "code" isn't ever executed. 2: FLASH DISK LOAD can be called in a program unlike LIBRARY DISK LOAD 3: If you load the data to flash slot 4 the addresses will be the same as the library you just need to note the various CSUB start addresses (however they will be version specific PicoMiteVGA/PicoMite) 4: If you load to a slot other than 4 then you can also have a library available for even more code and or data 5: Likewise you can FLASH DISK LOAD different data to multiple flash slots so even more data available 6. Use mm.info(FLASH ADDRESS N) to get the address of the start of any flash slot |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1114 |
@Peter or CMM2 owners just a strage Idea ... how about a CMM2 version? What do you think, if I adjust the graphics for the CMM2, would the speed of CMM2 be enough to do it there with its normal "sprite write" routine? The code would still be based on Volhout's MM Basic program Since I don't have CMM2 I would have to program it in Windows. As MMB4W is the most compatible with CMM2. (I've already tried this roughly in Windows. Of course, the colors don't match, so I would have to, when it's worth it, recreate the sprites and tiles for cmm colorset) Edited 2023-10-21 17:48 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4247 |
The issue with sprites Cmm2 can handle 64 Pico can handle 31 In the sprites folder alone there are &h5F sprites.=96 A preselecting must be made. Volhout Edited 2023-10-21 17:52 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9129 |
CMM2 has multiple PAGES (framebuffers available). All the images can be loaded into background pages and then blitted onto the main screen like the Pico - it handles transparency. If you use ARGB4444 graphics modes you have the two layers exactly like the Pico. Suggest you get the Pico fully working and then it shouldn't be a big deal to translate to the CMM2 even if I have to "update" the CMM2 firmware to deal with any little wrinkles. Certainly worth doing Edited 2023-10-21 18:19 by matherp |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1114 |
as i saysd, ist just an Idea .. PlayerSprite cold be Swapped by , has nothing, has Pistol, has gun .. and we got also 256 Tiles to handle, maybee by a memory copy (kind of). In MMB4W there is no problems, loading the Tiles from Disk just in Time. that Program then be transferred by a CMM specialist anyway. I would implement the graphics accordingly, or we can even use the original PSP graphics asCMM can work with more colors. My question was initially intended as a proof of concept. Maybe you can interest someone of the CMM2 faction for this Idea. Your Main program didn't need to be translated. The conversions would then only be for the graphic IO parts. Play Modfile and Play Modsample already worked on the CMM when we didn't even think about it on the Pico Edited 2023-10-22 01:03 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4247 |
First stage damage: destroy tiles (i.e. bridge and canister). Since damage to UNITS not yet implemented, the robot will survive the canister blow. pet20b.zip Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Could you zip up and post everything? I am behind the times. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4247 |
Here you are. This is VGA only. You must still copy the pet_lib.bin into the library LIBRARY DELETE LIBRARY DISK LOAD "lib/pet_lib.bin" RUN "pet20b.bas" Volhout petrobot20.zip PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
I will see how I can merge it with what Bleep is doing (unless he beats me to it, which would be fine). PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Page 18 of 38 |
Print this page |