Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V6.00.00 release candidates - all versions
Page 13 of 24 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
JanVolk Senior Member Joined: 28/01/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 144 |
Peter, Possibly already seen? > list functions MM.Info$( Occurs twice. Jan. |
||||
Bleep Guru Joined: 09/01/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 509 |
Hi Peter, Ok,... LCDs that don't have a 16bit parallel interface. :-) PS. what is the max overclock now on a 2350? if not VGA or HDMI Hi Harm, See link to Peters memcopy Regards Kevin. Edited 2024-10-18 07:34 by Bleep |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4223 |
Hi Peter, Geoff, I think this is a bug. The INSTR( ) function cannot work with calculated string indexes. I guess this is in MMBasic core (Geoff's original work). Example: dim a$(2) a$(0)="Peter Mather" a$(1)="Hello World" a$(2)="Lobster Soup" x=1 print instr(a$(x),"World") print instr(a$(x-1),"World") 'this line errors end The calculated index (x-1) is not seen as a number. Regards Volhout Edited 2024-10-18 18:24 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3194 |
It doesn't error for me. I get: 7 0 The last number is correct as x-1 is zero and that index does not contain "World" This is using ancient V5.05.05 What version are you using? And what error message? Geoff Edited 2024-10-18 18:50 by Geoffg Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4223 |
Hi Geoff, I am seeing this problem in PicoMite VGA RP2040 6.0.0 RC4 The problem exists in 5.08.00 (last official release), 5.09.00RC5 and the 6.00 series. Volhout Edited 2024-10-18 18:58 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3194 |
What is the error message? Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9110 |
Harm: looks like my bug as doesn't happen on the MM2 - will investigate |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4223 |
Hi Geoff, The error is: Error : Expected a number Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Bleep Guru Joined: 09/01/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 509 |
Hi Peter, I was thinking about these results 'Pico 2040 @ 378MHz VGA normal 336mS VGA Framebuffer 418mS 'Pico 2350 @ 378MHz VGA normal 193mS VGA Framebuffer 194mS The difference between the 2040 & 2350 for a framebuffer copy appears to be much greater than I would have thought, I realise it's a completely different processor and you tuned it, but I'm assuming that a memcopy should be reasonably standard, & well optimised, in the SDK, so the difference between them seems overly large, ~2mS compared with ~82mS, or is there something else going on? Bus contention, waiting for a frame sync. etc... Any insights, because this seems like quite a big speed hit. Regards Kevin. Edited 2024-10-18 19:20 by Bleep |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3194 |
OK, I just tested it on a RP2350 V6.00.00 (latest RC) and got that same error. So, something has gone wrong deep in the internals of MMBasic. Peter? Geoff Edited 2024-10-18 19:29 by Geoffg Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
disco4now Guru Joined: 18/12/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 896 |
I see it in PicoMite HDMI RC8. Looks like its came when the option to allow use of regular expressions in INSTR was added as I also see it in the Armmite H7 which also allows regular expressions.( I copied from Picomite). dim a$(2) a$(0)="Peter Mather" a$(1)="Hello World" a$(2)="Lobster Soup" x=1 print instr(a$(x),"World") print instr(a$(x-1),"World") 'this line errors end Saved 148 bytes 7 [8] Print Instr(a$(x-1),"World") 'this line errors Error : Expected a number Latest F4 Latest H7 |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3800 |
Works OK on the various Linux versions I tried. John |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4036 |
MMB4L doesn't have the regular expression feature at the moment. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3800 |
No worries and also don't rush to add it... John |
||||
phil99 Guru Joined: 11/02/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2135 |
MMB4W v5.07.03b24 output:- 7 0 > no error |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9110 |
Unfortunately, it's nothing to do with regular expressions. Much deeper inside MMBasic than that. |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4223 |
Peter, There is an option to use a starting position in the string, as a first value. That must be a numerical. Could it be that it sees the string as the optional starting value.? Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4223 |
Peter, I have one more observation on RC8. (2040 VGA PS2) Tried several programs, and at some point I ran a program that just output text to the VGA screen in mode 1. The program itself contains a "mode 1:cls", and displays nice white text on a black background. But when the text begins to scroll, the new lines have white background, but the text printed on them is white text on black background. So you are looking at normal text, and from the last character to the end of the line is white. Not black. I checked the tiles, but they do not cause it. I manually typed "mode 1" and that didn't solve it. I ran the program several times, the phenonem remained. I did a CPU RESTART and then the problem was gone. I do not know what caused it. Honestly I looked so long into this that I can't even remeber what program I ran before it. But it seems that program left something in memory that is not erased at a new RUN. I know this is by no way reproducible. So you can't solve it. But maybe someone else sees the same, and give more info. Volhout Edited 2024-10-18 22:30 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9110 |
V6.00.00RC9 PicoMiteRP2350V6.00.00RC9.zip PicoMiteRP2040V6.00.00RC9.zip Fixes bug in instr when an expression is used as the index to an array as the first parameter Fixes DS18B20 functionality ( and possibly DHT22?). This was caused by a change introduced to try and circumvent, to the extent possible, errata E9 on the RP2350 Removes spurious MM.INFO$ in LIST FUNCTIONS Further fix to MM.STARTUP |
||||
ville56 Regular Member Joined: 08/06/2022 Location: AustriaPosts: 91 |
Peter, another problem with DS18B20 still persists. If you have a loop with 2 sensors and a print statement within the loop the firmware locks up completely after some time. It can only be restarted by power-cycling or the reset signal. It can even be reproduced without any sensors connected. Takes a few minutes of runtime but it is reproducable. If the loop has only 1 sensor, it works ok. Example code (excuse some unneccesary variables and setpin statements): Option EXPLICIT Option DEFAULT NONE const acc_18B20 = 0 const ar_size = 9 Dim integer idx, flg dim float temp_R, temp_HK, temp_R_arry(ar_size), temp_HK_arry(ar_size), m_temp_R, m_temp_HK 'set pins to high for DS18B20 supply setpin gp8,dout pin(gp8)=1 setpin gp12,dout pin(gp12)=1 Do 'start conversions tempr start gp9,acc_18B20 tempr start gp13,acc_18B20 'read sensors temp_R = tempr(gp9) temp_HK = tempr(gp13) print "Heater=";temp_HK, "Room=";temp_R Loop Omitting the print statement make the loop work, at least over more than 12 hours. Regards, Gerald 73 de OE1HGA, Gerald |
||||
Page 13 of 24 |
Print this page |