Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MMBasic for Windows - betas
Page 13 of 30 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
... a state that lasted slightly less than two hours. This will crash MMB4W rather than report some sort of "File name too long" error: Option Search Path String$(255, "a") Also I would expect this to clear the SEARCH PATH: Option Search Path "" But it looks like it sets it to the current working directory, which I would think you would achieve with: Option Search Path "." or, of course: Option Search Path Cwd$ Best wishes, Tom Edited 2022-04-06 00:54 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
MMBasic.zip The maximum pathname length that can be canonicalized is 260 (default setting of MAX_PATH in WINAPI) |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Hi Peter, I was pinching some code from MMB4W to fix a problem in MMB4L and found this joker: > ? Str$(-9223372036854775808) ' Minimum possible 64-bit signed integer --9223372036854775808 Note the double -ve. EDIT: This seems to originate in changes/fixes you made to the MMBasic core, Geoff's "original" code which MMB4L was using appears to have different issues at the limits. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2022-04-06 02:56 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
Make this change to IntToStrPad if ((nbr < 0 && radix == 10 && nbr!=0x8000000000000000) || padch < 0) { // if the number is negative or we are forced to use a - symbol MMBasic.zip |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Hi Peter, The last two versions posted seem to be have a significant regression, both displaying this behaviour: Observe the misbehaviour of the initial FILES command. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2022-04-06 05:40 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
Oops - got true and false the wrong way round MMBasic.zip |
||||
darthvader Regular Member Joined: 31/01/2020 Location: FrancePosts: 76 |
Hello Peter I just try to compile your latest code and get this error. Is it something to set in the parameters to made it work ? Here i am in debug mode , but when i go for 'Release x64' it compile but mmbasic start and after 2sec or so , the window disappear Cheers. Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ... Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;) |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
You should be compiling in release x86. It won't work in debug or 64-bit Edited 2022-04-06 19:46 by matherp |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Working again thanks, and I can confirm that the Str$() bug is fixed. Could you please confirm the expected behaviour of: Option Search Path "" I think it should clear the option . Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
Currently sets it to the current working directory. Personally don't care what it does but since apparently you do.... MMBasic.zip |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
My OCD applauds you. Thanks, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Hi Peter, What am I failing to understand? Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
That there is no space in FontHeight and FontWidth and no error handling to catch it if you use one . Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
There are hundreds (thousands ?) of places in MMbasic where additional characters in commands/functions are not trapped. To do so would increase code size and slow performance. The code with the space is returning the current font. I'm not going to change this Try ON ERROR IGNORE TOM On all versions Edited 2022-04-06 21:58 by matherp |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
ON ERROR IGNORE TOM Sure, as the kids say "Whatever!" It's good to know that my efforts are under-appreciated and that you'd prefer bugs to be found in the field as opposed to during the beta period . Keep up the good work, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
darthvader Regular Member Joined: 31/01/2020 Location: FrancePosts: 76 |
Thank you Peter , now it compile well Cheers. Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ... Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;) |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9125 |
Not true, I really appreciate your testing. It was meant as a joke but is a genuine example of the issue. You can type this on any version of MMbasic and it will be accepted as anything after the IGNORE is ignored. MMbasic has the capability of checking for this (checkend function) which Geoff has used in some bits of MMBasic, presumably where he thinks it is important, but putting it everywhere would have a dramatic impact on performance Edited 2022-04-06 22:18 by matherp |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
I know Peter, I'm pretty familiar with the source now even if I haven't yet had to grok it all. But (a) I thought it was a poorly chosen example "IGNORE TOM" and (b) I enjoy yanking your chain almost as much as you do mine . Just wait until I have my integration test-suite running over the PicoMite . Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Yellow River Kingdom also works with the latest MMBasic for Windows beta. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2022-04-07 20:08 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4043 |
Hi Peter, A couple of nitpicks for you: 1. If you are using READ SAVE then you get an error when you attempt the 50th SAVE, I suspect from the name of the underlying C variable "MAXRESTORE" you meant the error to occur on the 51st? FYI this is many many more restores than I would expect anyone to ever need, but thanks. 2. Observe this: CMM2: > Print "foo bar wombat"; : Error "banana" foo bar wombat banana > MMB4L: > Print "foo bar wombat"; : Error "banana" foo bar wombat Error: banana > MMB4W: > Print "foo bar wombat"; : Error "banana" bananar wombat > I don't want to argue the merits of the CMM2 style vs. MMB4L since I think either is acceptable and haven't entirely settled on the behaviour of the latter, but MMB4W is clearly wrong. Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Page 13 of 30 |
Print this page |