Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 18:38 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Picomite(VGA) V5.07.07 betas - bug fixes + focus on PIO

     Page 12 of 16    
Author Message
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 10:34pm 18 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  The next release will include OPTION ESCAPE.


Good idea, though I wonder if the name of the option should have "String" in it, perhaps STRINGESCAPE ?

Would I be correct in assuming strings to "file functions" will not be parsed for escapes irrespective of the option, or have you changed your mind on this?

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 11:02pm 18 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

File functions automatically convert \ to / so are not affected. The reason for the change is:

a$=fname$
open a$ for input...

This can't be easily be trapped because the parsing of the escape sequence happens when fname$ is parsed
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 10:25am 21 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07b28

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Enhancements to PLAY SOUND to remove clicks and pops

Implements OPTION ESCAPE.
This enables escape sequences in strings and must be used in any program where you want to use them. You will be able to also use it at the command prompt but like OPTION EXPLICIT it will be disabled again by the RUN command and so will need to be included in the program. This change will ensure that the new functionality won't break any existing programs.

Fixes bug introduced in an earlier beta in OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_n

PIO ASSEMBLE now accepts &B, &O, and &H for numeric values
Edited 2023-03-21 20:34 by matherp
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4257
Posted: 12:01pm 21 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Peter,

VGA50707b28

Using Tom's Entertainer.bas as a test platform, I can confirm that on PicoMiteVGA, the clicking has been minimized.
The entertainer.bas program plays the song "the entertainer" while showing all the notes it plays on the VGA screen, as a list of frequency values.

As is, at 252MHz there was no clicking audible.
At 126MHz the clicking was more of a "sssht" sound. It appreas to be caused by scrolling of the text on the VGA screen. When I removed the "print" statements, even at 126MHz there was no clicking audible.

Thanks for adding &b and &h for the numerics in the PIO assembler. I probably won't ever use the &O.... but I understand it comes as part of the package...
You aslo fixed the MOV instruction.

Volhout

EDIT: noticed PicoMite erases options set, PicoMiteVGA does not erase options set. Could be conincidence.
Edited 2023-03-21 23:30 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2141
Posted: 07:32am 22 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@matherp

PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.07.07b28

One way the console line editor oddness issue can be created is re-flashing while:-

OPTION LCDPANEL NOCONSOLE
OPTION DISPLAY 55, 132

have previously been set.

OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE fixes it
then with
OPTION LCDPANEL NOCONSOLE it stays fixed.
Edited 2023-03-22 17:40 by phil99
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4257
Posted: 09:15am 22 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Peter,

Can you please explain what the ".line" prefix does in PIO ASSEMBLE ?
This is V50707b28 PicoMite (non VGA).

The default I use is ".line 0" so the assembly starts at addess 0 in PIO memory.

PIO assemble 1,".program hi"
PIO assemble 1,".line 0"
PIO assemble 1,"mov x,osr"
PIO assemble 1,"set pins,&h3"
PIO assemble 1,"push noblock"
PIO assemble 1,".end program list"


Outputs

> RUN
0: A027
1: E003
2: 8020



But when I want to assemble the code starting at address 2 in memory, I would expect the prefix needed is ".line 2"

PIO assemble 1,".program hi"
PIO assemble 1,".line 2"
PIO assemble 1,"mov x,osr"
PIO assemble 1,"set pins,&h3"
PIO assemble 1,"push noblock"
PIO assemble 1,".end program list"


The output is

> RUN
2: A027


In other words, it starts at address 2, but it only assembles 1 line of code (the MOV x,osr), and does not asseble the other 2 lines.

I guess I am not clear on what the ".line x" should do...

Volhout
Edited 2023-03-22 19:16 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 09:45am 22 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It's a bug - will fix
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 05:24pm 22 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  It's a bug - will fix


I've updated the download  - single line change so no version change
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4257
Posted: 02:37pm 23 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 512
Posted: 06:00pm 26 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Deleted.
Edited 2023-03-27 04:05 by Bleep
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 06:04pm 26 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Why should using a UK keyboard, use GP8?


Every keyboard uses GP8 and GP9 - these are fixed. The firmware is doing exactly what it should. See manual, special device support, ps2 keyboard
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 512
Posted: 06:07pm 26 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry you were too quick! I deleted it.
I just realised that the option KEYBOARD is only for a PS2 keyboard, not a USB keyboard, through a terminal.
Sorry!
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 11:33am 30 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07b30

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Implementation of library command in all versions thanks to disco4now (Gerry)

Final fixes to SOUND command

Improvements to onewire commands (thanks Jim)

PicoMiteWEB now included in the download as a beta including all changes to the other versions
Edited 2023-03-30 21:38 by matherp
 
nbrok

Regular Member

Joined: 13/02/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 60
Posted: 12:32pm 30 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  

PicoMiteWEB now included in the download as a beta including all changes to the other versions

I found a typo in the filename of the picoweb version: you forgot to type the 3 in the version number Not that bad, but worth to be mentioned....
Greetings,
Nick de pe1goo
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 12:41pm 30 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The Web version is b0
 
nbrok

Regular Member

Joined: 13/02/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 60
Posted: 12:47pm 30 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  The Web version is b0

Ok, Now I see it was alfa and now it became beta   shame me.....
Greetings,
Nick de pe1goo
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4257
Posted: 09:48am 31 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Peter,

There is one thing annoying with the library function. Whenever you save to library, or delete the library, the current program is also erased. Seen on V50707b30 picomite (non-VGA).

Is that unavoidable ?

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 09:56am 31 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  There is one thing annoying with the library function. Whenever you save to library, or delete the library, the current program is also erased. Seen on V50707b30 picomite (non-VGA).


Saving to the library by definition clears the current program because it copies the current program to the library. Otherwise you would end up with multiple identical functions with the same name. This is exactly how the MM2 works.

Delete I haven't checked the MM2 but perhaps Gerry can comment
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9143
Posted: 10:21am 31 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07b31 / WEB V5.07.07b1

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Support for micro I2C keyboard
Set OPTION SYSTEM I2C if not already set
Connect the keyboard to the system I2C pins
Then set OPTION KEYBOARD I2C
Keys along the top are programmed as ESC, F1, F2, F3, CTRL
To use the editor see the manual for the control keys that are used for forward, backwards, up, down, F4, F5, etc.




The keyboard is fully functional if a little small. Key repeat is not implemented and won't be. KeyDown, KeyUp codes could be made available if a real program was written to require them.

The keyboard can be used on any of the PicoMite variants
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4257
Posted: 10:47am 31 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  There is one thing annoying with the library function. Whenever you save to library, or delete the library, the current program is also erased. Seen on V50707b30 picomite (non-VGA).


Saving to the library by definition clears the current program because it copies the current program to the library. Otherwise you would end up with multiple identical functions with the same name. This is exactly how the MM2 works.

Delete I haven't checked the MM2 but perhaps Gerry can comment



I thought something like this was happening in the background. But why erase when you LIBRARY DELETE ? I assume that is a side effect.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 12 of 16    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024