Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Playing with Transparency and the Ultimate Game
Page 1 of 3 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
vegipete Guru Joined: 29/01/2013 Location: CanadaPosts: 1109 |
The new layer framebuffer transparency options in the latest PicoMite release candidate (RC12) firmware makes certain tasks very easy to perform. Here is a quick PicoMiteVGA demo program I've been messing with this weekend. Don't get excited - this only displays levels. There is no game logic or anything else at this stage. Level Data from the ArduBoy LodeRunner project can, with some massaging, be displayed by my demo code. Enjoy... Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs. |
||||
MarkF Regular Member Joined: 01/08/2023 Location: AustraliaPosts: 47 |
Thanks for sharing. I look forward to trying it. Could you please add a screenshot into this post. |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Nice. With IF mm.device$="PicoMiteVGA" then MODE 2, it works on the LCD: PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4040 |
Neat, LodeRunner was on my TODO list, looks like you are saving me the effort . Best wishes, Tom Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Hawk Senior Member Joined: 15/07/2021 Location: AustraliaPosts: 141 |
What is the nature of the changes? Does it affect the transparency of SPRITES? One of my issues with transparency of sprites was that the alpha channel was hard coded to Black…a popular colour for sprites. If hard coded, I’d prefer it was hot pink…a less used colour. |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4235 |
That is possible now. PETSCII robots uses Magenta as transparent color. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
vegipete Guru Joined: 29/01/2013 Location: CanadaPosts: 1109 |
I'm able to use the non-black transparency of the layer frame buffer to iris the playing field into view. I select a colour other than black as transparent and clear the layer to that colour. Then I draw a black box covering just the playing area. Now I can draw the play field on the main layer, which remains hidden by the black box on the top layer. The play area comes into view as I draw increasing sized circles in the transparent colour on the top layer. Neat! The closing iris was harder. I wish we had a clipping region for the drawing commands. Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs. |
||||
Amnesie Guru Joined: 30/06/2020 Location: GermanyPosts: 396 |
Yay more and more games for the Pico! Looks nice! Greetings Daniel |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
Games for vga or lcd again. I give up keeping up. |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6792 |
The two systems seem to be getting closer, Stan. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
But spi lcd 320x240 is slower than vga mode 2 and some graphics work but too slow to be a game imho. |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9116 |
Suggest you load and try the petscii code before making that assumption |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
It's said "will only work on vga" and "spi bottle neck". I found myself vga is much faster than spi lcd ili9341 for graphics. edit I should of said with the latest lcd picomite version not petscii but quoted from the thread. Edited 2023-11-02 00:49 by stanleyella |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6792 |
Peter has done *a lot* of work on the SPI side of things, Stan, including bringing the second CPU into play. Update speeds can be much faster now. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
Wasn't the 2nd cpu already for vga but not for lcd.. did nothing? Is it now for lcd?? How's that make spi faster? Thread is 21 pages. Does it need rc21? last time used peek zx spectrum not even picaxe. |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3802 |
Try the latest RC for LCD. John |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Who you gonna believe, "It's said" [by whom, when] or Peter Mather [now]? ~ Edited 2023-11-02 01:36 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
John It was rc12 last time and all my previous blit code gave syntax errors but I try again ili9341 with info I documented from forum advice about new blit but no real guide though. I can appreciate the work others are doing. |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6792 |
To get the best out of the new release some things have changed so you can expect syntax errors. Unfortunately the documentation is only what's in the forum threads at the moment. Yes, the second CPU is now used for LCD as well as VGA. rc12: https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=16248&P=9#211461 Edited 2023-11-02 02:21 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
Yes, the second CPU is now used for LCD as well as VGA. rc12: https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=16248&P=9#211461 Thanks sir,I'm back to rc12 and spi ili9341 options and cpu to max setup ok . back to blit error syntax but now error displayed on lcd. what if lcd wired wrong or duff .. sorry, cynical. I would like to see lcd improvements over what is already a brill spi implementation for ili lcd. so much better than 8 bit pics. see if I can sort blit write syntax error from info. cheers, stan |
||||
Page 1 of 3 |
Print this page |