Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:38 28 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : ArmmiteF407 V5.07.01 betas - lots of new stuff

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9127
Posted: 06:56pm 13 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.01b0


ArmmiteF407.zip

This is a major update to the F407 version of MMBasic to include some of the new functionality

It also uses the hashed variable table to provide a good speed update (c33% improvement)

Breaking changes:
WS2812 command now BITBANG WS2812
LCD command now BITBANG LCD
HUMID command now BITBANG HUMID
BEZIER drawing command removed
PAGE command now GUI PAGE

New:
Support of SK2812W LEDs (RGBW)
Support for CRC8, CRC16, and CRC32 math functions
Support for BITBANG BITSTREAM
MID command updated as per latest Pico beta
OPTION ESCAPE Support for escape sequences in strings and data statements as per latest Pico beta
MM.INFO(EXISTS FILE)
MM.INFO(EXISTS DIR)
MM.INFO(OPTION suboption) as per Pico
OPTION ANGLE
Support for * command to use as RUN
Support for MM.CMDLINE$ as per Pico
Support for MEMORY commands as per Pico (COPY, SET, PACK, UNPACK)

Anything else I've forgotten
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1057
Posted: 07:43pm 13 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter

Is this function still available?

Key 0 Switch
User available key. Has special function to enable Serial Console if held while power is being applied.
Connects ground to PE4 pin when pressed.

I have a number of boards where the USB console does not work

Brian.
ChopperP
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 926
Posted: 09:30pm 13 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter, did you look at the opening and closing COM2 issue?

OA47
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9127
Posted: 09:45pm 13 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  s this function still available?

Key 0 Switch
User available key. Has special function to enable Serial Console if held while power is being applied.
Connects ground to PE4 pin when pressed.

I have a number of boards where the USB console does not work


  Quote  Peter, did you look at the opening and closing COM2 issue?


No recollection of either of these issues. You will have to try the beta and let me know.
Edited 2023-08-14 07:48 by matherp
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2136
Posted: 10:00pm 13 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is excellent! Thank you.

EDIT
A few things not quite right.

> rtc gettime
Error : Unknown command
> ? time$
00:54:22
> ? date$
01-01-2000

> rtc settime 14/08/2023 11:38
Error : Unknown command
> RTC SETTIME 14/08/2023 11:40
Error : Unknown command
>

Saving a file in the editor with F1 or F2 erases the file.

The battery was flat but replacing it made no difference.

Edit 2
Com2 works ok.

> open "com2: 115200" as #2
> ? #2, "hello"
>
On Geoff's ASCII Terminal the output is:

hello
Edited 2023-08-14 13:52 by phil99
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 926
Posted: 04:57am 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Phil99, for this VARIANT

TIME$ = "HH:MM:SS"
or
TIME$ = "HH:MM"
or
TIME$ = "HH"
Sets the time of the internal clock. MM and SS are optional and will default
to zero if not specified. For example TIME$ = "14:30" will set the clock to
14:30 with zero seconds.
The time is set to "00:00:00" on first power up however the time will be
remembered and kept updated as long as the battery is installed and can
maintain a voltage of over 2.5V. Battery life should be 3 to 4 years even if
the computer is powered off

OA47
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2136
Posted: 05:09am 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for reminding me of that, however the manual mentions RTC SETTIME but not in the command listing.
  Quote  The RTC SETTIME command will accept a single string argument in the format of dd/mm/yy hh:mm
on page 70.
 
disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 897
Posted: 06:05am 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  phil99 said  Thanks for reminding me of that, however the manual mentions RTC SETTIME but not in the command listing.
  Quote  The RTC SETTIME command will accept a single string argument in the format of dd/mm/yy hh:mm
on page 70.


Armmite F4 User Manual
I don't think you have the latest manual. Go to the end of the thread for latest version. It won't have this new stuff as yet.
Latest F4 Latest H7
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9127
Posted: 07:17am 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Fixes the edit bug


ArmmiteF407.zip
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2136
Posted: 12:33pm 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Fixes the edit bug
Yes it does, thanks.
  Quote  I don't think you have the latest manual.
Yes, silly mistake. Now using the current one.
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1057
Posted: 12:59pm 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  No recollection of either of these issues. You will have to try the beta and let me know.

OK, Just enquiring. Will check at a later date unless someone beats me to it.
Thanks
Brian
ChopperP
 
circuit
Senior Member

Joined: 10/01/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 245
Posted: 08:30pm 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter, it would be simply excellent to have LIBRARY commands for this chip.  I was totally delighted when this appeared in the Picomite.  LIBRARY was one of Geoff's most inspirational additions to BASIC and lasted until the MZ series but then vanished most regretfully in the F407, H7 and others.

For me, the biggest issue in using the F407 as an embedded controller was when you moved the OPTION settings into battery-backed RAM.  Already I have had problems with the (supplied) battery running down and then having to reconnect the chip to reset the OPTIONS.  With such a capacious chip could the options not be brought back into non-volatile memory?
I know that it is possible to up the game on the battery backup (I have already replaced the button cell with a 2450 on a couple of boards) but bringing OPTIONS back into flash memory would bring back the added security and reliability of other 'mites.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 09:26pm 14 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There was a reason Peter used the battery-backed RAM for the options but I can't remember it now. It wasn't just out of naughtiness. :) Ah... Using 80 bytes of battery backed RAM in the RTC saves 16k of flash for enhancements.
Edited 2023-08-15 07:39 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
circuit
Senior Member

Joined: 10/01/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 245
Posted: 09:50pm 15 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  Using 80 bytes of battery backed RAM in the RTC saves 16k of flash for enhancements.


Thanks, Mick.  I see the logic in taking that route, but for me it really screws up the possibilities for some embedded applications that I have in mind.  

Incidentally, one aspect of this board that I REALLY like is the IPS_4_16 display driver and the associated IPS display.  The image is simply so much better in colour clarity than any other display - even better than the SSD1963 units.  I have been looking around to see if there are IPS_4_16 display drivers for any other of the 'mites and I don't seem to see them.  I would especially like to attach the IPS display to an MZ eXtreme; are there any display drivers for such?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 09:58pm 15 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No idea. I've never used that display or that platform.
Edited 2023-08-16 07:59 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2076
Posted: 07:10am 16 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  circuit said  
are there any display drivers for such?


did you include this very comprehensive list in your search? http://www.fruitoftheshed.com/MMBasic.LCD%20Panel%20list.ashx
 
circuit
Senior Member

Joined: 10/01/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 245
Posted: 09:34am 16 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  CaptainBoing said  
did you include this very comprehensive list in your search? http://www.fruitoftheshed.com/MMBasic.LCD%20Panel%20list.ashx


Thank you, yes, but not comprehensive enough...for some reason it has missed this particular display.  

The 4" IPS 800x480 display using OTM8009A and NT35510 drivers is in-built into the F4 firmware.  The display is visually quite spectacular when compared with other displays; clear, bright and with the exceptionally rich colour clarity of the IPS (In Plane Switching) technology.  The F4 driver was written by by Gerry Allardice (disco4now) who also compiled the F4 manual.  Gerry's compilation is one of the best of the 'Mite manuals with an excellent contents section.  

Peter, if you ever find time to revise the MZ Extreme firmware, could you make a note to include this driver.
 
flip
Senior Member

Joined: 18/07/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Posted: 07:46am 18 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,
I've just got some of these boards and connecting on ubuntu and they appear to be alive, but STM32 Cube programmer can't connect...I clicked 'refresh'(Blue circle) as per manual.
Anyone got it working with linux?
Following is syslog when plugging in the USB...
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.192429] usb 1-3: new full-speed USB device number 8 using xhci_hcd
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.364435] usb 1-3: New USB device found, idVendor=0483, idProduct=df11, bcdDevice=22.00
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.364448] usb 1-3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.364453] usb 1-3: Product: STM32  BOOTLOADER
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.364458] usb 1-3: Manufacturer: STMicroelectronics
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home kernel: [24272.364462] usb 1-3: SerialNumber: 3375357B3332
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home mtp-probe: checking bus 1, device 8: "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:03:00.3/usb1/1-3"
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home mtp-probe: bus: 1, device: 8 was not an MTP device
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home mtp-probe: checking bus 1, device 8: "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:03:00.3/usb1/1-3"
Aug 18 17:30:14 dell-home mtp-probe: bus: 1, device: 8 was not an MTP device


Or must I use Windoze?

Regards
Phil
 
disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 897
Posted: 08:20am 18 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Have a look at this thread. Someone loaded F4 here.
CMM2 - Loading the firmware using Linux
Edited 2023-08-18 18:20 by disco4now
Latest F4 Latest H7
 
flip
Senior Member

Joined: 18/07/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Posted: 11:39am 18 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for that !
I got it going and programmed.

Next problem is that plugging in ILI9341 display (also bought AliExpress as recommended as per link) kills the power on the processor board (LED goes out/comms dies)...unplugging re-establishes comms OK.

Only tried a couple before realising the serious pinout mis-match.

Closer inspection shows all 5 TFT boards I bought have following strange pinout mismatch.

Looking at silkscreen on both:

Pins    TFT          Processor
31 32   3V3   GND    3V3   3V3  BAD - SHORT 3V3 to GND !!
29 30   SET   GND    GND   GND  sus
27 28   INT   BLK    TIRQ  BLK  looks fine
25 26   SI    SO     TSI   TSO  also fine
..
..
3  4    DB15  DB14   D15   D14  all fine down to & including this pair
1  2    GND   RST    RST   GND  ? maybe permanent reset?


Really happy with design of the STM board - no smoke & recovers straight away on removal of short.


Can anyone check their pinout to see what a 'good' pinout normally should be?

(Trying to paste a picture, I know I have to upload somewhere..but couldn't see instructions where / how)

Regards
Phil
Edited 2023-08-18 21:40 by flip
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024