Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:52 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteVGA + CMM2: Lazer Cycle game

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 12:10am 07 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi folks,

About 12 months ago I promised @Mixtel90 that I would write a game for his PicoGAME VGA design, and this is it ... it wasn't worth the wait .

- GitHub/README: https://github.com/thwill1000/mmbasic-lazer-cycle
- PicoMiteVGA/PicoGAME VGA: lazer-cycle-pmvga-100.bas
- CMM2/MMB4W: lazer-cycle-cmm2-100.bas

   
   

If it has any claim to fame it is that it includes code to support a full range of controllers on the CMM2 (Wii Classic, Wii Nunchuk, NES gamepad & Atari joystick) and PicoMite (NES gamepad & Atari joystick).

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-03-07 19:38 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3816
Posted: 08:18am 07 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think the last 2 should be

PicoMiteVGA / PicoGAME VGA

CMM2 / MMB4W


John
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 09:39am 07 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  JohnS said  I think the last 2 should be ...


Thanks John, not sure what happened there, serves me right for posting at midnight I guess. Now fixed in original post (crosses fingers).

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-03-07 20:49 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1611
Posted: 11:49pm 11 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  If it has any claim to fame it is that it includes code to support a full range of controllers on the CMM2

It also plays a tune continuously during gameplay (actually two tunes) without seeming to effect gameplay and I really like the way the controller can be used to enter names for the high scores - much the same as my smart TV does for inputting text.

SAAINT by Tom is also worth looking at even if you are not into adventures. It is so much more that just an adventure interpreter. File handler, word wrapping etc.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
bar1010
Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 197
Posted: 12:40am 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The game does not run on Color Maximite 2.  There is an error message.
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 12:47am 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bar1010 said  The game does not run on Color Maximite 2.  There is an error message.


A little more detail would help:
   - What is the error message?
   - What CMM2 firmware version are you running?

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
bar1010
Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 197
Posted: 05:10am 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  
  bar1010 said  The game does not run on Color Maximite 2.  There is an error message.


A little more detail would help:
   - What is the error message?
   - What CMM2 firmware version are you running?

Best wishes,

Tom


Error in line 1273: Cannot find label
Restore USE_CONTROLLERS$
MMBasic Version 5.07.00
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1611
Posted: 05:28am 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just to be sure I downloaded the latest firmware from Geoff's site and tried again and it worked just as before. Should I ask if you tried the the CMM2 version and whether you have MMBasic V5.07.06 or later for the CMM2?

Bill

Edit: Sorry I didn't see your reply.
Edited 2023-03-12 15:29 by Turbo46
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1611
Posted: 05:58am 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry, It looks like you need a later version of the firmware. From the release note for V5.07.01:

  Quote  Enhancement of the RESTORE comand
The restore command can now take a variable as the parameter. A numerical variable should be used for a line number and a string variable for a label


USE_CONTROLLERS$ is a constant that contains the actual label for the RESTORE command. It is not implemented in the version that you are using.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
bar1010
Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 197
Posted: 03:15pm 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Updated my firmware on Color Maximite 2 from 5.07.00 to 5.07.01.
There is a different error message now:
Error in line 630: SAVE is not declared
Read Save
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 03:44pm 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Turbo46 said  Sorry, It looks like you need a later version of the firmware. From the release note for V5.07.01: ...


Thanks for acting as overnight support Bill, and for beta testing (on this and SAAINT) in the first place. Sorry, in my rush to finally push this our of the door I forgot to credit you with that, I'll do something to rectify that today/tomorrow .

  bar1010 said  Updated my firmware on Color Maximite 2 from 5.07.00 to 5.07.01.
There is a different error message now:
Error in line 630: SAVE is not declared
Read Save


Yeah, that would be the use of RESTORE SAVE which was introduced in 5.07.02 beta 4.

The latest CMM2 5.07.02 beta (9, I think) is here: https://geoffg.net/Downloads/Maximite/CMM2_Beta.zip

I would guess we won't get another "release" until the CMM2 hardware becomes available again .

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-03-13 01:48 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
bar1010
Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 197
Posted: 05:52pm 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for the help.
The program now runs for me with firmware 5.07.02 beta 9 installed.
Played with one AI, two AI, and also three AI opponents.  It is a very nice
program for Color Maximite 2.
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1611
Posted: 07:59pm 12 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

bar1010, Glad you got it working at last.  

Tom, Glad to help during the day.   No need for any credit, it's all your own work of course, besides the testing gave me the excuse to buy the controllers needed to test every type you support. The game has all of the bells and whistles of a commercial game and I hope others can make use of some of them.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 10:42am 13 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Turbo46 said  The game has all of the bells and whistles of a commercial game and I hope others can make use of some of them.


Thanks Bill, a "commercial" game from the dawn of the 8-bit home colour computer perhaps .

  bar1010 said  The program now runs for me with firmware 5.07.02 beta 9 installed.
Played with one AI, two AI, and also three AI opponents.  It is a very nice
program for Color Maximite 2.


Great to hear that it is working, and thanks for trying it out and the compliment.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4256
Posted: 09:57am 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Tom,

Downloaded the PMVGA version, try to run on Peters VGA board using keyboard (no controllers (or pullup resistors), just floating GP pins) and the game is stuck on the startup screen (pressing "SPACE" won't start it).

Any part of the code I can adapt to make it run.

PicoMite 5.07.07RC4

Regards,

Volhout
Edited 2023-04-17 19:59 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 10:10am 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hmm, I wonder if the floating pins give the controller detection code apoplexy, that would be a bl**dy nuisance, the only VGA boards I have to test with are PicoGAMEs.

EDIT: Though if that were the case I'd just expect it to start with some random controller rather than not start at all. I don't suppose a non-UK keyboard returns a different PS/2 scan-code for space ... seems unlikely.

There is a piece of code that looks like:
controller_data_pmvga:

Data 10, 5
Data "KEYS: CURSOR", "keys_cursor", 1
Data "KEYS: AZ,.",   "keys_cegg",   0
Data "KEYS: AZXC",   "keys_azxc",   0
Data "KEYS: '/,.",   "keys_punc",   0
Data "GAMEPAD A",    "nes_a",       1
Data "GAMEPAD B",    "nes_b",       1
Data "JOYSTICK A",   "atari_a",     1
Data "JOYSTICK B",   "atari_b",     1
Data "AI",           "ai_control",  0
Data "NONE",         "no_control",  0


Try replacing it with:
controller_data_pmvga:

Data 6, 1
Data "KEYS: CURSOR", "keys_cursor", 1
Data "KEYS: AZ,.",   "keys_cegg",   0
Data "KEYS: AZXC",   "keys_azxc",   0
Data "KEYS: '/,.",   "keys_punc",   0
Data "AI",           "ai_control",  0
Data "NONE",         "no_control",  0


Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-04-17 20:14 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4256
Posted: 10:25am 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yip,

That did it. Now the game starts.
Let's play....

It's fun....

Volhout

EDIT: debugging
enabling GamePad: Error message "Setpin: GP15 already defined (is RTC I2C bus)).
enabling Joystick: This causes the startup screen not to proceed when pressing "SPACE".
Edited 2023-04-17 20:37 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 10:50am 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  enabling GamePad: Error message "Setpin: GP15 already defined (is RTC I2C bus)).


Are you sure ? GP15 isn't I/O for the GamePad, though it is the fire-button for Atari Joystick B.

EDIT: The RTC connected to the fire-button of Joystick B is probably the problem, the code polling that Joystick waits for the fire-button to be "released" and I'm guessing that never happens - does the RTC hold GP15 up ? ... Hmm, my code doesn't configure the Atari inputs as pull-up on the PMVGA either, perhaps it should.

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-04-17 21:00 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4256
Posted: 11:56am 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry Tom...

enabling was the wrong word. "commented out" should be the wording.
Yes, ATARI caused the SETPIN error on GP15

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6814
Posted: 12:03pm 17 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The PicoGAME boards use GP26 and GP27 as I2C pins for the RTC. Obviously, you can't have an analogue joystick using them at the same time.

GP14 and GP15 are used for FIRE inputs, but are also the supply pins for NES controllers, in which case they are fed via 150R resistors. They shouldn't really be used as outputs as there's a danger of shorting them with a FIRE button.
Edited 2023-04-17 22:03 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024