Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Electronics : I must be stupid
Author | Message | ||||
Downwind Guru Joined: 09/09/2009 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2333 |
I spent half of last night trying to get a circuit working using a 339 quad comparator with no results. On closer inspection today i find i had reached into the draw and pulled out a 393 dual 4bit bin counter instead of the 339 comparator. Doh!! no wonder the logic made no sense. I had checked and double checked the wiring and checked it again all was correct but nothing would work. No wonder when dopey here used the wrong chip. Either i have too much junk or need a break, if not both. Am i the only one who do dumb things like this??? As i go off grumbling to myself how stupid that was and blindingly oblivious ......Grumble,grumble, growl, growl...... Pete. Grumble, grumble.......$%#@..........&*#!%....................Bugger. ! Sometimes it just works |
||||
Gizmo Admin Group Joined: 05/06/2004 Location: AustraliaPosts: 5078 |
I do stuff like that all the time, only I dont tell anyone The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now. JAQ |
||||
oztules Guru Joined: 26/07/2007 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1686 |
If that were the dumbest thing I did for the day, I'd be pleased oztules Village idiot...or... just another hack out of his depth |
||||
Downwind Guru Joined: 09/09/2009 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2333 |
Feeling better now, as with the right chip all worked as intended. Just a day later and a lot of bad words in between. Think the problem got worst with the odd ale during problem solving. (well it is the festive season) Pete. Sometimes it just works |
||||
Dinges Senior Member Joined: 04/01/2008 Location: AlbaniaPosts: 510 |
Glad to say that such things never happen to me. For example, I never happened to absentmindedly replace a 7805 by a 7812 (despite the fact that they've each got their own bin) and then wonder how I suddenly kept blowing digital logic ICs and tantalum elcos on a board that happened to work fine previously. The scary part is how long it took me to realize what had happened, as I was about to replace the 3rd IC and 2nd tantalum cap.... And I never happened to measure the ripple voltage on the elcos of a large powersupply last week and be pleasantly surprized that ripple was only 400mV, far less than the 5V that I originally dimensioned the capacitors for.... only to realize much later that the little switch on the scope probe was set to 1:10.... It's good to see that such things only happen to others, not me. Peter. (<-- points to sig line) |
||||
MacGyver Guru Joined: 12/05/2009 Location: United StatesPosts: 1329 |
[Quote]Glad to say that such things never happen to me. Ditto! But you must realize Im 50% Dutch, so it's no wonder! Nothing difficult is ever easy! Perhaps better stated in the words of Morgan Freeman, "Where there is no struggle, there is no progress!" Copeville, Texas |
||||
Bryan1 Guru Joined: 22/02/2006 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1344 |
Haven't you guys heard of 'Murphy" just blame him, I do and it works for me...... Like spend 5 hours machining a precision acme shaft after spending ages making a nut using an acme tap so the internal thread was spot on. When there's noway the nut will start on the thread ya realize 'Murphy' put the wrong change gear on the gear train and it's 1 tpi out. |
||||
Downwind Guru Joined: 09/09/2009 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2333 |
I spent most of the day playing a game called "spot the error" I was a game i created (not by choice) I had rewritten Gizmo's code for his pump controller using symbols and labels so it would read a little clearer. With running it as a program test it would function on the first pass through and then loose the plot. With the sleep delays it makes it hard to work out what was wrong. It was an error i had created in program. I will post the code with error, should anyone else like to play this silly bloody game of " Spot the error" '%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%% 'GIZMO'S GADGET symbol battery = b1 symbol float = b2 symbol pump_timer = b3 symbol time_out = b4 symbol led = 0 symbol mosfet = 2 symbol delay = 500 symbol V_cutin = 90 symbol V_cutout = 80 symbol time_set = 50 low mosfet low led pump_timer = 0 float = pin3 main: readadc 4, battery if battery < V_cutout then batt_low if pump_timer > time_set then pump_on_to_long sleep 1 if float = 0 then pump_on if float = 1 then pump_off goto main pump_on: high mosfet high led sleep 12 inc pump_timer goto main pump_off: low mosfet low led pump_timer = 0 goto main pump_on_to_long: low mosfet high led pause delay low led sleep 1 goto pump_on_to_long batt_low: low mosfet for time_out = 1 to 200 high led pause delay toggle led pause delay toggle led pause delay toggle led sleep 1 next time_out readadc 4, battery if battery > V_cutin then main goto batt_low goto main I have found the error but can you spot it?? Happy hunting. Pete. Sometimes it just works |
||||
RossW Guru Joined: 25/02/2006 Location: AustraliaPosts: 495 |
I'm guessing from a quick once-off read through it, that it would be spending rather a lot of time in "pump_on_too_long" (I stopped looking for any other problems when I found that one) So... what do I win? :) |
||||
Downwind Guru Joined: 09/09/2009 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2333 |
Ross, No cigar!!!!!! The pump_on_to_long, was a intended locked loop done by Gizmo, in case the float got stuck. ( i did comment that bit out for testing) Back to the message board sorry to say and try again!! Pete. Sometimes it just works |
||||
RossW Guru Joined: 25/02/2006 Location: AustraliaPosts: 495 |
ok, well the only other things that stand out are that you're reading the value of "float" from pin3 only on initialisation - which isn't necessarily WRONG, but in the context of your code would seem counter-intuitive. It also fits within the broad spec of "works first time". |
||||
Downwind Guru Joined: 09/09/2009 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2333 |
Ross, You have won the booby prise of a half eaten candy bar. (more than likely the other half to the one oztules is waiting on ) Obviously you like silly bloody games. Talk about Code Red!! i had read the code over and over and you think i could spot the error. Symbol float = B2. should have read Symbol float = pin3 (and delete float = pin3) O-well it gave you a half hour of fun. (clever bugger) Pete. Sometimes it just works |
||||
Print this page |