Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 03:58 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Webmite and Water Flow Sensor

Author Message
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 06:23pm 16 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Does anyone have experience with Webmite and Water Flow Sensor.
I only find Python information.
Who can help me ?
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 08:12pm 16 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What type of water flow sensor?

Most sensors use hall effect devices and send out pulses proportional to the flow rate.

My sensors send approximately 300 - 400 pulses per litre so it is simply a matter of using the counting inputs and read the value every 30 seconds (or what ever time span suits your application).

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 08:16am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim
Thank you for your reply

My test sensor is a Digiten FL-S401a

Specs:
0,3-6l/min
3-24V
F=98*Q(L/min)
"F" probably means "frequency). But what does 98*Q(l/min) mean?

Gerad
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 357
Posted: 08:53am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Q: waterflow expressed im liters per minute.
example: 2 liter per minute would give a frequency of F=98*2=196Hz. Could also be F=196 pulses per minute. If you have the sensor, why not test and see?
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 08:57am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Q = quantity.
Frequency = 98 * Q
Q = Frequency / 98

count the number of pulses in one minute and divide by 98 to give Litres per minute.

Flows below 0.3 L/min will not be accurate.
Flows above 6 L/min will not be accurate.

My sensors are bigger at 50 L/minute but work the same and are 440 pulses per litre for one type and 330 for a different type.

Jim
Edit: Looking at some specs it might be pulses per second, not minute. A test will soon tell you which it is.
Edited 2024-03-17 19:04 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 09:32am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It seems the FL-S401a sensor is the wrong one.
The sensor should measure in the range 95ml to 570ml.
I'll probably have to use an expensive laboratory sensor.

Thanks Jim

Thanks to everyone for your tips

Regards
Gerad
 
Solar Mike
Guru

Joined: 08/02/2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1138
Posted: 09:40am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Look on AliExpress: not too expensive for low flow rate versions
Example

Another

Mike
Edited 2024-03-17 19:41 by Solar Mike
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 10:19am 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If the  FL-S401a sensor is 98 pulses per second for 1 litre/min that gives you 98*60 or 5880 pulses per litre. Measuring 95ml should be easy.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 06:44pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The sensor delivers an impulse.
Faster or slower depending on the flow.

> SETPIN GP7, FIN
> PRINT PIN(GP7)
The result is 0

What am I doing wrong ?

Gerad
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 06:52pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello Mike
Thank you for your AliExpress note.
Was very helpful.

Have a nice Day
Gerad
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9114
Posted: 06:59pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  
What am I doing wrong ?


Is the output of the flow sensor open collector? If it is you will need a pullup resistor
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 09:26pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi matherp

These are the sensor specifications

Frequency: F=98 * Q (L / Min), error: ± 2%
Flow range:0.3-6L/min
Maximum Consumption current:10 mA(DC 5V)
Working voltage range:DC 3-24 V
Pressure range: 0-0.8MPa Storage Temperature:-25-80℃

Output Waveform:Square Wave,output pulse singal.

That's all I know
Gerad
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 11:24pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Assuming you are running the sensor on 3.3V to match the picomite, try a 1k resistor from 3.3V to the output (yellow) lead.

If you use COUNT instead of FREQUENCY, you can specify an internal pull-up instead of the external one.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Solar Mike
Guru

Joined: 08/02/2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1138
Posted: 11:58pm 17 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have been using similar sensors recently measuring water flow from a distant pump into a header tank; running off 5v used a 10K resistor from output (yellow) to 5v, the sensor output can start from a logic low or high depending on where its impellor rests at initial start up.
In your code look for a transition edge and count the pulses over a set time. You can test it on the bench by gently blowing through the input tube. Note they have a directional arrow for water flow.

Cheers
Mike
 
Gerad
Regular Member

Joined: 10/01/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Posted: 09:48am 18 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

it's a mystery to me

I use a new Raspi Zero W with a Freenove breakboard. All pins are equipped with LEDs. The LED of GP7 reacts to the sensor pulses but the input does not count. GP7 has a 1K pullup resistor. The sensor is connected to 3.3V. What's going wrong?
Maybe the sensor doesn't work correctly with 3.3V

Gerad
Edited 2024-03-18 20:28 by Gerad
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024