Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 06:40 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : LINE GRAPH Command with optional limits?

Author Message
vegipete

Guru

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1109
Posted: 07:48pm 09 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The LINE GRAPH command is proving quite useful for drawing, well, graphs.

LINE GRAPH x(),y(),colour

This command generates a line graph of the coordinate pairs specified in
“x()” and “y()”. The graph will have n-1 segments where there a n elements
in the x and y arrays.


Would it be possible to add an extra optional parameter specifying n where n is <= the number of elements in the arrays?

Even better would be another parameter, m, specifying the starting element.

The benefit would be two-fold: the ability plot just a window in the full data set, and to not require the entire array to be filled with valid data.

----------
I can see benefits to many of the commands/functions that act on arrays having starting and ending element number parameters. For example, Math(max arrayname(),m,n) would pick out the max value in the specified window.

And yes, much of this can be done with variations on
math set a(m),b() ' fill all of b() with useful data
addr1 = Peek(VARADDR a())
addr2 = Peek(VARADDR b())
Memory COPY FLOAT addr1 + m*8, addr2, n ' copy some of a() to b()
maxval = Math(max b())
but that's a bunch of extra error prone steps and can't be faster than existing commands with start/end parameters would be.

Thank you for considering this!
Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs.
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2127
Posted: 10:18pm 09 Mar 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I used  line graph for a game.
"Would it be possible to add an extra optional parameter specifying n where n is <= the number of elements in the arrays?"
it does I think.
"Even better would be another parameter, m, specifying the starting element."
'til then copy from start to another array?
dim integer lx(43)=(0,5,9,13,3,18,25,30,48,53,57,47,32,11,5,9,57,89,108,149,170,220,262,300,320,400,447,493,510,545,572,600,638,605,590,577,560,513,495,470,457,500,639)
 '
dim integer ly(43)=(0,7,15,25,40,70,100,130,130,160,193,253,298,346,420,430,430,400,370,457,450,400,440,466,424,400,460,460,452,403,373,320,240,210,190,170,130,120,137,110,60,26,0)
Line GRAPH lx(),ly()
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024