Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:25 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : STM32F407 verses APM32F4 (Chinese clone)

Author Message
poida

Guru

Joined: 02/02/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1418
Posted: 04:33am 07 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

looking at the STM32F407VGT based Black boards, some ALiexpress vendors
offer STM32 chips or GeeHy APM32 chips.
Supposed to be interchangeable.

there are differences.
One thing I have found is the ADC .
I tested it using my FFT code (with options for FFT size, sample rate etc.)
No changes were made to the code loaded into both boards.
I used the Arduino IDE with STM's support package for it.

test condition is
sample rate: 500kHz
sample size: 2048
ADC resolution: 12 bits
Flat top window
time average: 8 traces (smooths out the noise)
20 db/vertical division
1V p/p 60kHz sine

Blue trace is a sync pulse for the DSO trigger
Yellow is the FFT magnitude. 0 to 250kHz over 12 divisions

First is the STM32F407



then the APM32F407



It is clear the APM32 has an inferior ADC design.
The second harmonic of the 60kHz is -42db
The APM chip also has another harmonic at -60db

The STM chip has nothing above the noise level
but this is a few db more than the APM uC

I have tested this at various sample rates from 500Hz to 500kHz
and that 2nd harmonic is always there, no matter the signal frequency.

The aliexpress vendor has the APM board only about $2 cheaper than the
$15 STM based board. There could be more differences in the chip
but this is the first one I found so far.

here is the code I used if anyone is interested. (probs. not)

stm32f4_cmsis_fft_serial_config.zip
Edited 2024-02-07 14:33 by poida
wronger than a phone book full of wrong phone numbers
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3801
Posted: 08:54am 07 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ooh, that could hurt some people - well found.

John
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4233
Posted: 09:45am 07 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi poida,

This looks a bit like the issue with the RP2040 ADC.
That 12 bit ADC also degrades to a 9 bit ADC because non linearities caused by bad capacitor matching on the chip.

Thanks fo sharing.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024