Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 19:34 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Question: Picomite - VGA + Network on the same board

Author Message
xandr001
Newbie

Joined: 20/01/2024
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2
Posted: 09:23am 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello everyone!

I am currently on my journey to building a retro-style computer (mostly kit-bashing it together) and recently discovered the PicoMiteVGA, which looks like a solid base.
If it could be combined with the networking capabilities of PicoMiteWeb, that would be a no-brainer best route for me.

So the question is - can we combine the networking capabilities of WebMite with VGA and PS/2 of the PicoMiteVGA project? I can do the coding if given the direction etc.
For now - just trying to understand if it is technically possible and what should be done to make it happen.

I really appreciate any help you can provide.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6790
Posted: 09:33am 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi, and welcome to the 'Shed. :)

No, you can't. VGA and wi-fi can't co-exist on the same PicoMite as there isn't enough space.

The Webmite supports a range of LCD displays, like the ordinary PicoMite and it also supports the PS2 keyboard.

Depending on what network access you are looking for, it may be possible to connect a COM port of a PicoMite VGA to, say, an ESP32 to handle the network load. Such an arrangement isn't supported by the wifi commands in MMBasic though (the PicoMite VGA hasn't got them).
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 859
Posted: 10:03am 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Example

Didn't Matherp do something with the ESP32 or am I dreaming again?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6790
Posted: 10:17am 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't remember. It's not something I've ever really been interested in. Not since failing to get much out of a ESP8266-01S anyway. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3801
Posted: 02:11pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  xandr001 said  can we combine the networking capabilities of WebMite with VGA and PS/2 of the PicoMiteVGA project?

Yes - use 2 Picos.

John
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 02:13pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  xandr001 said  So the question is - can we combine the networking capabilities of WebMite with VGA and PS/2 of the PicoMiteVGA project? I can do the coding if given the direction etc.


It depends on just which capabilities you want, and how much coding/hardware cobbling you are prepared to do.

Here is an ESP32 S2Mini cobbled onto a Picomite: https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?FID=16&TID=16574&LastEntry=Y#215708#215708. The same thing could be done with a PicoVGA (using different pins if necessary), and other web features than the WGET$ used there could be employed, as shown in other threads.

Alternatively, Annex32 provides Basic, Web access, and VGA all in one package: Annex ESP32 VGA, and more specifically as introduced here: VGA out for ESP32-S3 - New feature to test. "The color depth has been defined at 8 bits for a max of 256 colors. The scheme is 332 (3 bits for red, 3 bits for green, 2 bits for blue)." I have not tested this myself, but for other web-related projects, I am happy with Annex32 Basic.

I don't know the current state of play, but the early Annex VGA did not support keyboard input--that would be limiting if it remains the case.

~
Edited 2024-01-23 00:29 by lizby
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
xandr001
Newbie

Joined: 20/01/2024
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2
Posted: 06:05pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks all for the responses!
Makes sense, and very insightfull

  JohnS said  
  xandr001 said  can we combine the networking capabilities of WebMite with VGA and PS/2 of the PicoMiteVGA project?

Yes - use 2 Picos.


I was also thinking about this option. Is there a good/discussed way to communicate between two picomites? Not talking about spreading the program onto 2 executors, but at least do a console login to the Networking pi, using VGA pi as a host. Or share some variables/files etc.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6790
Posted: 06:19pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You could use a simple COM port link (which has a buffer) or I2C (which doesn't). It's not networking, as such, but both work well on the PicoMites. SPI isn't as useful as there is no SPI slave mode. I2C with one or more additional lines for interrupts is a possibility for high speed systems, although the PicoMite only handles up to 400kHz.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 06:31pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  xandr001 said  Is there a good/discussed way to communicate between two picomites?


Here's a picomite server and picomite client.

The whole thread discusses various ways for MMBasic on one platform (e.g., MMB4W or picomite) to talk to MMBasic on another platform, either by passing commands and data via serial, or by controlling the client picomite with the firmware but no user program by sending commands to it as if typing at the ">" prompt and decoding what is returned.

It's also possible to use I2C (as discussed in Geoff's documentation (I think for the micromite), but I believe that is less flexible than using serial (though not by much).
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3801
Posted: 06:53pm 22 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The COM port way looks easy, fast and reliable, with good support in MMBasic.

John
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024