Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:26 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Cheap and easy 6-button controller

Author Message
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 01:03pm 09 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've been playing with the idea of just having GP26, GP27, G28 and RUN on an expansion port, together with GND and 3V3.

You could use it for:
A combination of analogue and digital inputs up to 3
An I2C (I2C2) port with an interrupt line and reset
SPI2 (but no extra signals so very limited)

Then I came up with this (repeat for each ADC input):



                       3V3
                       !
    3V3                1K
     !                 !
     1K              BUTTON 1
     !                 !
     +------- 10K -----+------- OUT
     !                 !
     1K              BUTTON 2
     !                 !
    GND               GND


You only need the potential divider resistors once, the 10K resistors isolate the 3 channels. The 1K resistor above button 1 prevents a power supply short!

Normally the output will sit at half supply, so

button1 = (PIN(n)>2)
button 2 = (PIN(n)<1)

Yes, you could do this with a single resistor string but it's slower to read and needs selected resistor values. It can't handle simultaneous presses either, this can handle 3 if they are on different channels.

Nothing in this design is critical. You could put a cap from the mid voltage point to GND, but I doubt if it's needed.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2129
Posted: 04:23pm 09 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

GP26, GP27, G28 and RUN? is that 4 pins or 3?
I like 2 buttons detected, my a-d arduino 5 button is just each button.
You got to think how many buttons you need, like I'm making 8 button board but with i2c expander ..when I get pull ups to work but when would I need 8 buttons? it's got 16 channels so use 8 for in and 8 for out as a versatile board needing only 2 gpio for i2c.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 04:28pm 09 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Mick,

GP26..28 are ADC channels
Its is easy to connect multiple switches to 1 ADC pin, and if you use R-2R-4R-8R resistors you can even detect double presses.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2129
Posted: 04:48pm 09 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  Hi Mick,

GP26..28 are ADC channels
Its is easy to connect multiple switches to 1 ADC pin, and if you use R-2R-4R-8R resistors you can even detect double presses.

Volhout

Can you post a circuit with common value resistors please for 6 buttons please.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 05:29pm 09 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Stan:
If you are using a I2C expander (using GP26 and GP27) it's useful to have the Reset line to clear it to defaults, hence the RUN signal. You can also use GP28 as the interrupt to signal that a pin has changed. This approach is good if you want 8 or 16 digital inputs. You could also connect to another Pico using this approach.


As I said, I know you can put multiple buttons on one input. However, for 6 buttons you need:
R 2R 4R 8R 16R 32R
that's quite a big range and doesn't fit into E24 series single resistors.

This is very fast to read and has a very high noise immunity. There are no cumulative errors.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4243
Posted: 08:38am 10 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think it is do-able to decode 4 keys with one ADC input.
With following circuit.



This will give you 80mV minimum resolution for 2 key press detect (change R1 to 4.7k). This is in the "2-button" column in the red fields (0.080 = 0.080 volt = 80 milivolt)

Result from following analysis:


 
And a small (not tested) MMBasic program to show how it works.
You scan through the voltage levels in the array, and see where the ADC pin voltage crosses a threshold.

'key decode for ADC connected keys

dim v(11)=(3.142,2.860,2.616,2.379,2.173,2.031,1.805,1.611,1.531,1.413,0.668,0)
dim k$(11)length 5=("no","S4","S3","S3+S4","S2"."S2+S4","S2+S3","S1","S1+S4","S1+S3","S1+S2","fault")

setpin gp26,adc

do
 volt=pin(GP26)
 i=12
 do
   i=i-1
 loop while volt < v(i)
 print k$(i)

 pause 100
loop


You can extend this of coarse to 5 or 6 swiches, but you may have to calibrate the ADC, and add averaging and noise filtering. Since (as you can see in the analysis) there will be very small steps you need to detect. The ADC resolution (4096 steps for 3.3V) has a 1mV resolution, so technically 6 buttons is possible. You may need precision resistors in non E96 values to get sufficient accuracy.
Edited 2023-11-10 18:42 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2129
Posted: 02:16pm 10 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Mick and Volhout.
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024