Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:51 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Text help

Author Message
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1702
Posted: 10:23am 30 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Is it possible to display 2 different things on one line of text with the 2nd starting at the end of the 1st

Example
Text WIDTH%/2, HEIGHT%/2, dvalue$, CM, 6, 2, dcolour%
Text ***Starting at the end of the dvalue$**** dunits$, LB, 2, 2, Rgb(White)
I know I could possible do both in the same font and colour as one line but I need both to have different fonts
the 1st one is Speed which needs to be big, the 2nd says mph or kph which obviously needs to be smaller

I am aware I could position it manually on the screen but when the speeds changes from one digit to two or 3 digits the mph/kph would be in the wrong part of the screen it it would look terrible

I'm using an ili9341 2.4inch display
This is what I have at the moment  dunit$ = either Kph or Mph

   Text WIDTH%/2, HEIGHT%/2, dvalue$, CM, 6, 2, dcolour%
   Text 205, 200, dunits$, LB, 3, 1, Rgb(White)
   Text 40, 240, "Battery " + (Str$(battery!,1,2) + "V"), LB, 3, 1, Rgb(White)

Edited 2023-04-30 20:40 by lew247
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 10:50am 30 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Because all the fonts are fixed width you can calculate where the first string ended and then start your new string (with a different font) at that coordinate.  However, you could not rely on the TEXT command to centre the whole string.  If you want to do that you would need to do your own calculations to centre the whole lot.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1702
Posted: 11:05am 30 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Geoff
 
Bowden_P
Senior Member

Joined: 20/03/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 162
Posted: 01:59pm 30 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi lew247,
You could try experimenting with "GUI CAPTION" for each string, if the version of MMBASIC you are using has this. Set your chosen colour(s) in the definition for each. To update the strings use the CTRLVAL(ref) for each.

Although the command doesn't have a font setting, I believe it uses the currently set one, so change it as required.

Just a thought - I haven't tried it to confirm this.

With best regards, Paul.
Nothing so constant as change.
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024