Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 23:31 21 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : ADC run command in MMBASIC, 8 vs 12 bits

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2129
Posted: 09:36pm 17 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  OPTION HDMI clockpositivepin, d0positivepin, d1positivepin, d2positivepin
Valid values are 0-7 and of course the PINS mustn't overlap
for each channel:
If the pin is an even number the negative pin is defined as pin+1
If the pin is an odd number the negative pin is defined as pin-1
Defaults to 2,0,6,4 to match various commercial boards
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2108
Posted: 09:51pm 17 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/uploads/javavi/2024-11-12_044435_Screenshot%202024-11-11%20203333.png

would this work with 2350 please?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6757
Posted: 10:21pm 17 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

First, forget that the pins are called GPnn. :)
They are HSTX pins. Going round anticlockwise from the GP12 position they are 0,1,GND,2,3,4,5,GND,6,7.

The above quote lets you assign the pins on the HDMI connector. There are 19 pins but we are only interested in these:
1 - D2+
2 - GND
3 = D2-
4 - D1+
5 - GND
6 - D1-
7 - D0+
8 - GND
9 - D0-
10 - CK+
11 - GND
12 - CK-

OPTION HDMI 2, 0, 6, 4 works like this:

2 is HSTX 2 and that will go to CK+ / HDMI pin 10
0 is HSTX 0 and that will go to D0+ / HDMI pin 7
6 is HSTX 6 and that will go to D1+ / HDMI pin 4
4 is HSTX 4 and that will go to D2+ / HDMI pin 1

The HDMI pins are numbered from the left, looking from the back of the socket.

There is a nice little HDMI breakout board available from Adafruit. It is breadboard friendly and has all the resistors on it. However, not many places seem to have it at the moment. There are some cheap ones on AliExpress but there are no resistors on them, you will need to put 22R or 270R in series with each signal line.

-----------------------

No, that diagram won't work under MMBasic. You have to use the HSTX pins on the RP2350. The RP2040 can't do HDMI at all under MMBasic.

.
Edited 2024-11-18 08:24 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2108
Posted: 10:53pm 17 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Mick. thanks but not a clue. I used the manual for connecting vga,sd card,sound,keyboard but there's no easy as vga to connect hdmi.
not been simplified.
I'll work out what you posted but First, forget that the pins are called GPnn. :) ??
ta stan ordering hdmi breakout
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6757
Posted: 08:51am 18 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

HDMI is no more difficult than VGA really. It's just that there are a couple more pins used on the Pico. :)  It looks more complicated because you have to use specific pins but you have to allocate how they are connected unless you are using one of the commercial boards that have a sort of standard.

OPTION HDMI isn't bad to use, it just looks a little complex at first, possibly because the pins are always used as four adjacent pairs so it only has four values to define eight HDMI signal lines. :)

The exact connections you use will depend on your PCB layout normally.

From the Adafruit breakout board:
  Quote  
Wire it up to the bottom pins of your Pico board with the following:

GP12 to D0+
GP13 to D0-
GP14 to CK+
GP15 to CK-
GP16 to D2+
GP17 to D2-
GP18 to D1+
GP19 to D1-
And tie all the grounds together to one ground pin.


Then OPTION HDMI 2, 0, 6, 4 if you want to use it. You don't need to in this case because that is the default anyway.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4212
Posted: 09:01am 18 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Mick,

I see there are 8 HDMI wires, but what is the relation with the thread topic ? About 12 bit ADC versus 8 bit ADC ?
I think you derailed....

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6757
Posted: 09:12am 18 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I got derailed, yes....  lol
Stan does that to me. This time we got here via audio on the Olimex board! (Because it has no ADC channels unless you disable the audio and pinch a pin from the HDMI socket, so that was a bit on-topic).

Mind you, you can possibly think of it as thread recycling as the original post was eventually answered, I think. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024