Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 13:02 25 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : WYSE terminal keyboard adapter.

Author Message
Gizmo

Admin Group

Joined: 05/06/2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5078
Posted: 08:04am 22 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hiya

Been looking for the perfect keyboard. Tried the keyboards with the tap tap laptop type keys, noop. Currently using a keyboard with more of a clunk clunk type keys, its OK, but wonder if I can do better.

Looking though some old keyboards, I found my old AT Model F keyboard from the 80's. This thing's as heavy as a house brick. And ooooh those keys, feel perfect. But its a old layout and wont suit my typing style.

The I found a pair of old WYSE terminal keyboards. The keys feel great. Not as good as the AT but better than anything else I've used in the last 20 years.





These use a special interface over 4 wires. Its well documented, and I did find a project online which involved using a Teensy 2.0 board as a adapter. Problem is, the Teensy boards are expensive, when they are in stock.

Just wondering, does the PicoMite have the ability to emulate a keyboard? I can decode the WYSE signal and use a character map, but I would need the PC to recognise the PicoMite as a keyboard.

The other option would be using a ESP8266 ( I've got a few spares ).

Glenn
Edited 2024-05-23 09:25 by Gizmo
The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now.
JAQ
 
Gizmo

Admin Group

Joined: 05/06/2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5078
Posted: 02:18am 23 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

After some research I believe the software used ( Soarer's WYSE Converter firmware ) to convert WYSE keyboard to USB will run on a Arduino Pro Micro ATmega32U4, so ordered one, should be here in a week.

Its possible a Pi-Pico can be used in a similar way, to act as a Keyboard or Mouse when plugged into a PC. But unless I'm wrong ( usually am ) then this cant be accessed in Pico-Mite.

Maybe a function to consider, it would mean a PicoMite could be used to build your own keyboard or pointing device.

Glenn
The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now.
JAQ
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 03:18am 23 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Perhaps you can modify this
https://github.com/pikvm/kvmd/releases

EDit: this link gives the details
https://docs.pikvm.org/pico_hid/#configuring-the-hid-modes

Just replace the pS2 code with Wyse

I was sure that there was some discussion about the pico-hid on here.

Jim
Edited 2024-05-23 13:22 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Gizmo

Admin Group

Joined: 05/06/2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5078
Posted: 07:22am 29 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, after a week of frustration, I got it working.

I ordered a Arduino Pro Micro, and went about installing Soarer's WYSE Converter firmware. Boy o boy, why they recommend Arduino for beginners is beyond me.

I had to install the firmware onto the Pro Micro, there's a bunch of "how to"s but none of them were working, the programmer just wouldn't flash the firmware. First you put the Pro Micro into bootloader mode by shorting the reset pin to ground, then you have about 8 seconds to start the upload. The instructions all say to first workout out what port the Pro Micro uses, then use a command line command to send the firmware to that port.

WRONG!

Well, partly. Just a case of poor instructions. Seams for the duration of the boot loader process, the Pro Micro creates a new ( different ) com port. So you need to watch device manager to see what new com port is created after you put the Pro Micro into boot loader mode, then dropped 8 seconds later as it reverts back to its usual com port. I put this temporary com port into the command, and it worked!

The instruction on this page pointed me in the right direction...https://deskthority.net/viewtopic.php?t=19035

I mounted the Pro Micro into a little box. Some people mount it inside the WYSE keyboard, and I decided to go this way as I wanted to use the WYSE keyboards spiral cord.




And its working. Typed this post on the wyse keyboard.

Glenn
The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now.
JAQ
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6783
Posted: 07:40am 29 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I *hate* the Arduino IDE system. It's a waste of valuable hdd space on a tiny PC like this. I can't understand the hype about it personally, it's a pain.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4223
Posted: 07:13pm 29 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Honestly,

Arduino is fine for small projects. Just does not come with any kind of debugger (unless Arduino PRO and external debugger).
So it is debugging with printf statements.

But the ATMEGA328 and the likes have become extremely more expensive. Not long ago you could buy a UNO or NANO for few $. Now you get more potent ARM board or ESP for less.

Volhout
Edited 2024-05-30 05:16 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6783
Posted: 07:57pm 29 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This PC is fanless and has a whole 64GB of (non-expandable) flash for drive C:. By the time you have windows on it space is very tight! I've added a massive 250GB of M2 so the system is huge!. ;)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
EDNEDN
Senior Member

Joined: 18/02/2023
Location: United States
Posts: 118
Posted: 07:08pm 31 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  
Arduino is fine for small projects.


Arduino was a valuable tool for many years.   But when codebases started getting bigger the Arduino crew didn't do anything to accommodate that.   One of the biggest problems with Arduino is it can't handle long path names for files.   Combining that with a large codebase and it pushes people to switch over to PlatformIO.
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024