Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:53 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Confusion with SPI LCD panel

Author Message
apalert
Newbie

Joined: 06/07/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Posted: 04:46am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Attempting to setup a ST7735S SPI LCD panel on Picomite

Correct me if I'm wrong but from the manual I gleaned the process as:


At command prompt:
OPTION SYSTEM SPI CLKpin, MOSIpin, MISOpin
OPTION LCDPANEL ST7735S, OR, DC, RESET, CS [,offset]

In code:

SETPIN rx, tx, clk, SPI


I suspect all 3 of those lines refer to the same 3 pins but using different naming conventions and not necessarily in the same order.

Any help will be appreciated!

Mal
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 05:55am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Displays are configured from the commandline and then they are 'permanent' until the options are reset.

the DC, RESET and CS pins referred to in the second OPTION are in addition to the SYSTEM SPI pins and all 6 pins are needed.

The display will use the SYSTEM SPI pins.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
apalert
Newbie

Joined: 06/07/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Posted: 06:26am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim

And with the last line, SETPIN rx, tx, clk, SPI I'm guessing that:

rx = MOSIpin
tx = MISOpin
clk = CLKpin
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 06:33am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

MOSI is 'Master Out Slave In' which I would call tx
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 06:47am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As noted by Jim  'SETPIN rx, tx, clk, SPI' isn't needed as OPTION SYSTEM SPI takes care of that every time the Pico boots.

On many panels their Rx is labelled SDI and connects to MOSI = Tx on the Pico
and their Tx is labelled SDO and connects to MISIO = Rx on the Pico.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4233
Posted: 07:50am 06 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You only need this:



Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
apalert
Newbie

Joined: 06/07/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Posted: 08:35am 08 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks everyone for your help. Got it running today :)
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024