Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:35 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : pi picomite board 3 DS1307 RTC modules don't work.

Author Message
dpcons
Newbie

Joined: 20/05/2022
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Posted: 11:16pm 01 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've tried several new DS1307 Tiny I2C modules on my PiPicoVGA03 board from Land boards and none of them respond.  Several DS3231 modules work just fine although the form factor is not ideal.  I'm using the latest picomite VGA software.  Maybe someone could look into this?  Thanks. Is there an earlier version of the code for these boards?  Looks like I'll be ordering some tiny DS3231 modules.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 12:35am 02 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Copied and pasted the I2C address reader from your other thread to a standard PicoMite with DS1307 attached to gp8 (SDA) and gp9 (SCL) using System I2C.


> AUTOSAVE
' loop col/row
For y=0 To 7
Print Hex$(y,2);": ";
For x=0 To 15
addr = y*16+x               ' calc address
I2C write addr, 0, 1, &H00  ' write zero to that address
If MM.I2C=0 Then            ' check for errors
  Print Hex$(addr,2);" ";   ' found one!
Else
 Print "-- ";               ' nothing here..
EndIf
Next x
Print
Next y
Saved 318 bytes
> RUN
00: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
01: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
02: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
03: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
04: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
05: 50 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
06: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 68 -- -- -- -- -- -- --
07: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
> option list
PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.08.00RC4
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP8,GP9
OPTION COLOURCODE ON
OPTION CPUSPEED  378000 'KHz
OPTION DISPLAY 60, 128
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9488, RLANDSCAPE,GP15,GP14,GP13,GP7
OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11
GUI CALIBRATE 0, 3820, 408, -1306, 946
OPTION SDCARD GP17
>


Address &H68 is the DS1307 and &H50 is a 24C32 EEPROM on the RTC module.

As the DS3231 module does work I2C must be ok. Try the address scanner with the DS3231 then if that works substitute a DS1307 in the same spot and run the scanner again.

Edit. Are the DS1307 module pins in the same order as the DS3231? If not connect via wires.

Some DS1307 modules may not work at 3.3V as the chip is specified as 5V, though that would not produce the error message you are seeing. Just no response.

If powered from 5V add diodes from SDA and SCL to 3.3V, cathodes to 3.3V.
Edited 2024-02-02 10:47 by phil99
 
dpcons
Newbie

Joined: 20/05/2022
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Posted: 01:04am 02 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The DS1307 pinout is identical to the schematic and board pinout.  As a matter of fact, the board is the exact board referenced by the documentation from Land Boards-
'http://land-boards.com/blwiki/index.php?title=PiPicoMite03'

The schematic shows 3.3V for the device, so that may be the culprit.  I ordered a small DS3231 module and gonna boot-out the DS1307.  Should be pretty easy to kludge into the assembly.  Thanks, good call on the 3.3/5V.  

I have a little arduino to use to check the I2C addresses and experiment.
I can't seen to get the scanner code I have to run on this board.

Just a rookie with MMBasic, but it looks pretty nice so far.
Thanks for your response.
 
disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
Posted: 02:29am 02 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It seems others have problem with this module.
See this thread for some issues
Latest F4 Latest H7
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 03:13am 02 Feb 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That is a useful link! The R7 issue is new to me, I shall remove it.
If powered from 5V and has a non-rechargeable cell (CR2032) the charging resistor (R5 - 200Ω) should be removed. Doing that makes R4 (1.5MΩ) redundant so remove it and replace with a 100nF to 1µF cap. The purpose of R4 is to protect the VBAT pin (3V max) when a re-chargeable battery is full but reduces the voltage too much for a CR2032 that is nearing the end. As a bonus removing it extends the life of the cell.
Edited 2024-02-02 17:30 by phil99
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024