Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:57 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite/VGA/Web V5.08.00: back to betas

     Page 7 of 7    
Author Message
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4234
Posted: 03:16pm 04 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

Would the DEVICE(WII ) command be compatible in any way with a nunchuck ?
Or only the classic controller ?

Volhout
Edited 2024-01-05 01:16 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9115
Posted: 04:50pm 04 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not at the moment, It never got much traction on the CMM2 compared to the Classic. If there is a real (more than one person) requirement, I could look at it.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4234
Posted: 06:18pm 04 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No, don’t bother. I simply haven’t received my classic, but have a nunchuck from the old wii.
Wanted to start playing with it. But I can do the basics with ordinary I2C commands. No need for fancy stuff atm.

Volhout
Edited 2024-01-05 04:20 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Dinosaur

Guru

Joined: 12/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Posted: 04:47am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All

Another obstacle to having the Pico WebMite able to recover from loss of power.

The Normal condition:
Rpi-Zero has fired up and the Wifi Hotspot is up.
The Pico fires up with: OPTION WIFI "Rpi-Hotspot","********"
Connection is made and all is well.

Rpi-Zero shuts down and Hotspot is gone.
Pico detects loss of Wifi and carries on until Hotspot returns. (In the morning when Zero fires up again)
It will keep working like this forever (hopefully)


Abnormal condition:
A reboot happens on the Pico during the night whilst the Hotspot is down.
The MMBasic OS (if i can call it that) fails on the Option Wifi and won't activate the Autorun of my program.
So it will sit there until human intervention.(Not Good)

Desirable response to the abnormal condition:
The failure of "Option Wifi" should not prevent the program from starting.
My program will handle the abscence of the Wifi
That way the "off-line" control functions can be executed until such time as the Hotspot is back up.My program will perform a CPU Restart and the connection will be made.

I tried eliminating the "Option Wifi" so my program fires up, but when the Wifi returns, I keep getting IP=0.0.0.0
so I can't initiate a connection.
Edited 2024-01-05 14:49 by Dinosaur
Regards
Hervey Bay Qld.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 05:53am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

See if adding this does anything. Only tested it once as my modem takes 8 min. to reconnect at this time of day but it worked.
WebMite MMBasic Version 5.08.00b5
Sub MM.StartUp
 If MM.Info(IP Address) = "0.0.0.0" Then
  Pause 60000
  CPU Restart
 EndIf
End Sub

Edited 2024-01-05 15:54 by phil99
 
Dinosaur

Guru

Joined: 12/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Posted: 06:13am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All

Phil, i already do that, although a longer time.
Whenever the Wifi fails I keep checking every 3 minutes to see if a connection can be made.
But that is under normal condition.

In the abnormal case my program doesn't get Autorun, so can't do anything.
If I remove the Option Wifi, the program will Autorun and have had it running like that for
15 minutes, but each time after the cpu restart the IP = 0.0.0.0, even though the Wifi is up.

Ideally we should be able to activate the Wifi from within the program, then we would not need the Option Wifi.
Edited 2024-01-05 16:15 by Dinosaur
Regards
Hervey Bay Qld.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 06:26am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The key is MM.StartUp. That is a special Sub and will run at start-up regardless of Autorun.
.
Edited 2024-01-05 16:33 by phil99
 
Dinosaur

Guru

Joined: 12/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Posted: 06:32am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All

It has only RTC GETTIME to read local Real Time Clock.
Are you suggesting that I place my main routine call in there, thereby forcing the program to run?
Regards
Hervey Bay Qld.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 06:40am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That might work but I don't think you need to.
MM.StartUp will keep looping CPU Restart till an IP Address appears then AutosRun should takeover.

Edit.
Best way to find out is just give it a try.

Edit 2
Instead of RTC GetTime in MM.StartUp you could use OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE then it will also update from the RTC every hour.
Edited 2024-01-05 16:49 by phil99
 
Dinosaur

Guru

Joined: 12/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Posted: 09:18am 05 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All

Odd, working now ??
Remember reading that NEW cancels Autorun.
Perhaps updating the program, then rebooting , caused Autorun to work again. !!!

At the moment at startup I get:
PIC******* connecting to Wifi
failed to connect
starts my program

previously it showed command prompt.

Will watch it.
Edited 2024-01-05 19:19 by Dinosaur
Regards
Hervey Bay Qld.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4234
Posted: 08:40am 15 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Maybe this is not too late for the new release.

In PicoMiteVGA there is a FRAMEBUFFER COPY a,b[,B]
Is it possible to extend this command to include a color that will not be copied ?
I am envisioning to merge L and N onto N. But the transparency of L (i.e. Magenta) should not be copied...

Thank you for even considering...

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 7 of 7    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024