Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 15:46 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2 Sprite animation

Author Message
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 479
Posted: 06:20am 15 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What is the best approach for creating animated sprites on the CMM2?
Is it having one sprite per frame and showing/hidding them?
The problem with this approach is that we only have 64 sprites.
I think using sprite read is slow, but I'm not sure.
Any ideas?
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 08:06am 15 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

how about storing all animation states together as one picture on a "Framebuffer" ( I dont have a CMM2 but there should be more of them than on the Pico) and read the Sprite from a coordinate which depends of the Animation number.


like this


So in your Program, you could use allways the same Spritenumber to deal with.
Edited 2023-10-15 18:37 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 479
Posted: 10:09pm 15 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I did an experiment using sprite read, and it worked well. I'm always using sprite #1 for the player, just replacing the skin.


sprite read #1, CHOICE(g_player(2),PLAYER_SKIN1_X_R,PLAYER_SKIN1_X_L), PLAYER_SKIN_Y, PLAYER_SIZE, PLAYER_SIZE, TILES_BUFFER
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 12:02am 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just playing here with an aspect of Martin's idea--blitting from the screen. I moved the bottom row of kittens one position to the right, and the upper right-most kitten to the emptied space, clipped the image, and reduced the size to a width of 320.

This program does the animation at 16 frames per second. There are some artifacts, because the kittens are not all centered in equal rectangles:

Youtube video

CLS
Load image "kittens320.bmp"

h=57: w=80
Do
 y=0
 For j=1 To 2
   x=0
   For i=1 To 4
     Blit x, y, 120, 160, w, h
     x=x+w
     Pause 62 ' 16 frames per second
   Next i
   y=h
 Next j
Loop


kittens320.zip
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 479
Posted: 02:37am 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thank you lizby for your example

I can't just use blit because I have a background that also scrolls and other spriters to interact with.

Sprite read worked fine.

Soon I will post a video about it
 
Goksteroo
Senior Member

Joined: 15/03/2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Posted: 08:15am 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,

This is how I did animated sprites that changed depending on the direction moving. I was planning on trying my hand at a Sorcery type game and grabbed these sprites from either the Amstrad or Atari ST version, but all I ended up doing was this test programme.  Feel free to use any of this code or graphics and feel free to do a Sorcery like game as I have now moved on to another project. The zip file contains the .BAS file and the .png file... just to be on the safe side!
'Sorcery test - By G.Camp 2023

option default integer
mode -7 ' 320x240
cls
text 160,220,"SORCERY TEST",C

' Read in sorcery sprites
page write 1
load png "Sorcery_Sprites2.png"
page write 0
restore sorc_spr
read w,h
for i=1 to 12
read x,y
sprite read i,x,y,w,h,1
next i
page write 0

'start position
x=100:y=50
sprstart=1:sprmax=4
spr=1
sprite show spr,x,y,1

settick 200,AnimateSorc ' change for faster/slower animation


do
sprold=spr
oldx=x:oldy=y
for i=1 to 3' third key is for fire button
kd=keydown(i)
select case kd
case 130
  inc x,-(x>0)
case 131
  inc x,(x<296)
case 128
  inc y,-(y>0)
case 129
  inc y,(y<196)
end select
next i

pause 5 ' faster or slower movement

if x=oldx and (spr<5 or spr>8) then sprite hide spr:spr=5:sprstart=5:sprmax=8:sprite show spr,x,y,1' not moving so front view
if x<oldx and spr>4 then sprite hide spr:spr=1:sprstart=1:sprmax=4:sprite show spr,x,y,1'  moving left - change sprite
if x>oldx and spr<9 then sprite hide spr:spr=9:sprstart=9:sprmax=12:sprite show spr,x,y,1' moving right - change sprite

if x<>oldx or y<>oldy then sprite show spr,x,y,1'not moving so do nothing

loop until inkey$="q"  

sorc_spr:data 24,24 ' size
data 0,0,24,0,48,0,72,0' Left
data 96,0,120,0,144,0,168,0 ' front
data 192,0,216,0,240,0,264,0 ' right

sub AnimateSorc
oldspr=spr
inc spr
if spr>sprmax then spr=sprstart
sprite hide oldspr
sprite show spr,x,y,1
end sub




Sorcery.zip
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 01:54pm 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

In trying to figure out the difference between the handling of sprites on the CMM2 and on the PicoMite with LCD, Goksteroo's code and image looks like a good place to start. I converted the png file to bmp and can display it with no problem.

My issue is that I don't have a good handle on sprites on either platform. Goksteroo's code uses PAGE WRITE 1 and PAGE WRITE 0, which aren't available on the PicoMite. Are FRAMEBUFFER L (or F) and FRAMEBUFFER N (the LCD) comparable? Or interchangeable? How should the writes to the various FRAMEBUFFERs be handled?

The other major issue is with SPRITE SHOW and SPRITE HIDE (and all SPRITE commands for which equivalent BLITs aren't available), as in
if x=oldx and (spr<5 or spr>8) then sprite hide spr:spr=5:sprstart=5:sprmax=8:sprite show spr,x,y,1' not moving so front view
if x<oldx and spr>4 then sprite hide spr:spr=1:sprstart=1:sprmax=4:sprite show spr,x,y,1'  moving left - change sprite
if x>oldx and spr<9 then sprite hide spr:spr=9:sprstart=9:sprmax=12:sprite show spr,x,y,1' moving right - change sprite

if x<>oldx or y<>oldy then sprite show spr,x,y,1'not moving so do nothing


How should this be handled on the PicoMite?
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 02:51pm 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

maybe,for starters, to get familiar with it, maybe something simpler?





this is all older, before we got the new, faster functions.
But even without it I can scroll with 8.5 FPS on the LCD, which is,imho, enough for a
BoulderDash game to convey fun.

Little scroll Demo
tiles.zip
Made on PicomiteVGA so for LCD remove the "MODE 2" to run
Edited 2023-10-17 00:53 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 03:26pm 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Goksteroo said  Hi all,

This is how I did animated sprites that changed depending on the direction moving. I was planning on trying my hand at a Sorcery type game and grabbed these sprites from either the Amstrad or Atari ST version, but all I ended up doing was this test programme.  Feel free to use any of this code or graphics and feel free to do a Sorcery like game as I have now moved on to another project. The zip file contains the .BAS file and the .png file... just to be on the safe side!



Sorcery.zip

Unfortunately I have no idea about these types of games, however the Sprites look very nice.  
Sadly we have to deal with 16 Colors so,
For comparison, here is , how the image would look with the 1,2,1 bit color scheme of the Pico.


Not too shabby either
It would be nice if someone designed a game about it
Edited 2023-10-17 01:33 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 479
Posted: 03:58pm 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My code is still in WIP, but you can download it from the following link and follow my progress:

https://github.com/leonicolas/knightmare-cmm2

I'm using blit for rendering the map tiles. The map has been created using the Tiled and converted to binary using the script dev/map_converter.js.

The player sprite animation is done in line 79 using sprite read. The player is always the sprite #1.

You can use the arrow keys to move around the map and the space key to shoot. No enemies, power-ups, or death have been implemented yet.

It's running fine in the MMBasic for Windows. I didn't test it in the real machine.

The original game: Knightmare
Edited 2023-10-17 02:06 by LeoNicolas
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 04:34pm 16 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Martin H. said  Little scroll Demo


Thanks Martin. That gives the appearance of scrolling a field of tiles, but does it by re-writing each tile (as a sprite with SPRITE WRITE) at each iteration.

By changing Restore LevelData1 to other number 0-5 you get other arrangements of the tiles. 6,7,18, and 19 failed with an out-of-bounds error message. I didn't try the other LevelDatas.

Neat, thank you. Now I'll go back to poking about with Goksteroo's code.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024