Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:41 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Bought a 16 MB Ram pico but

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 08:59pm 05 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Mick, I just made a simple test:
setpin 31,ain 'ADC 0 GP26
print pin(31)
setpin 32,ain 'ADC 1 GP27
print pin(32)
setpin 34,ain 'ADC 2 GP28
print pin(34)


With all inputs disconnected:
GREEN module:
0.2475335775
0.3416849817
0.3287912088


BLACK module:
3.3
3.3
3.3


ADC0 to GND:
GREEN module:
0.01383394383
0.3344322344
0.3317460317

BLACK module:
3.3
3.3
3.3


No wonder I had problems!
Pluto
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6100
Posted: 09:52pm 05 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The Black boards have a solder link near GP26 which links Vref to 3.3V Closing that gives you good ADC functions.
I found that easier than extra headers etc.

My black boards runs the current ADC CRO software without any issues.
If anything, I would consider the Black boards have less jitter in the traces.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 10:01pm 05 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post



At the connection points on the right I measure about 0.02V. Shouldn't this be Vref 3.3V?

On the left there is an open "solder-blob" connection. Should it be closed for using the onboard 3.3V as Vref?

I always thought the connector on the right was an output for Vref, but could it be an input for Vref?

--Leave the "blob" open and supply your own Vref to the connectors
--or close the "blob" and use the onboard 3.3V as Vref.

Needs some more testing...but I have to leave it for tomorrow.
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 10:08pm 05 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim!
Didn't see your post before I saved my post. The answers come before the question is asked. That's what I call rapid service.
Your answer seems to be in line with my guesses.  

Thanks and good night (at least here, when I don't need to have nightmares about malfunctions in ADCs.)

Pluto
 
okwatts
Regular Member

Joined: 27/09/2022
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
Posted: 11:30pm 05 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

In the interest of showing another version I have been using the WeACT RP2040 which has most of the same features, 16MB Flash, USB-C but is not exactly pin-compatible with the genuine Pico. I have been using it at nominal speed but I have had it operate at 378MHz successfully as well. Since I am late to MMBasic I started with the PicoMite in its various forms. I used this particular version as a Pico replacement for Geoff's MicroMite LCD Backpack. I attach the pinout and I purchase this in Canada at the following https://universal-solder.ca/product/rp2040-pico-board-16mb-raspberry-pi/



For those who are capable of producing a board ( I have no design or KICAD experience) this would be a boon to me and perhaps others rather than having to wire this point to point like I did.


 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 06:44am 06 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is no VREF source resistor at all on the YD-RP2040 black board.

You can simply blob the link. That will connect VREF directly to 3V3 (not too horrendous with a linear regulator. There is 100nF decoupling in place to reduce regulator noise).

You can fit a 0603 size 220R onto the link and a larger cap into the VREF and GND holes to get lower noise performance.

You can fit 220R as above, but a LM4040-3V reference into the VREF and GND holes to get a 3V reference.

You can use an external R,C network from 3V3 to VREF.

You can inject a precision voltage of anything up to 3V3 directly into VREF (this needs to be powered from the 3V3 line so that it gets shut down with the supply).



===========================

@ okwatts
That board is close enough to be used on most of the Pico and PicoMite patch board layouts. You may have to cut tracks where GP29 and GP24 are in some cases, but that's all. Note - although that is also black it isn't a YD-RP2040. :)
Edited 2023-09-06 16:54 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6100
Posted: 06:58am 06 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  
@ okwatts
That board is close enough to be used on most of the Pico and PicoMite patch board layouts. You may have to cut tracks where GP29 and GP24 are in some cases, but that's all. Note - although that is also black it isn't a YD-RP2040. :)

The board shown has a lot of gotcha's from pin 30 onwards.
Starting with GP26 where the RUN reset button would go.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 07:12am 06 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh yes! I hadn't spotted that they'd moved all the ADC inputs!

Nope, sorry, WeAct - I wouldn't bother with that board. It breaks too many rules. I thought the YD-2040 was a bit out, but as I look at it more I think they made some good choices. I just with they'd used faster flash.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
okwatts
Regular Member

Joined: 27/09/2022
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
Posted: 09:12am 06 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Agreed that that the pins being moved from pin 30 on is an issue for the typical pico add-ons but for my purpose as a Micromite LCD backpack replacement it will work fine.
I can use it for Geoff's Air Quality monitor.
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 09:35am 06 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My YD-RP2040 black board works as intended after closing the link as advised by Mick and Jim. Thanks to all of you in the shed for marvellous support and inspiration.

Pluto
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024