Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:45 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Drivers for USBasb programmer?

Author Message
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 06:00am 31 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have just plugged in a USBasb programmer, but Windoze wants drivers for it.
I hoped it would just I.D. as a standard COM port, but aparently not.

Can anyone help me find the drivers I need to make this thing talk?

Thanks muchly.



Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
oh3gdo
Regular Member

Joined: 18/11/2021
Location: Finland
Posts: 47
Posted: 06:40am 31 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Gogster.
I found drivers for Linux and Windows
Please look these. maybe it will help
https://www.fischl.de/usbasp/

Pekka
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9125
Posted: 07:08am 31 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

https://www.instructables.com/USBASP-Installation-in-Windows-10/
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3802
Posted: 12:18pm 31 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Typo (as people have noticed) usbasb -> usbasp

John
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 05:10am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, I have installed the driver, and Windoze seems to be able to see it there:





But AVRDUDE does not want to talk to the chip - in this case, a 28-pin MEGA8.

I am totally unfamiliar with Atmel MCU's - do I need to install a 16MHz crystal oscillator on the breadboard?  With PIC's, you don't need to install a resonator or crystal to program them most of the time, but Atmel controllers might be different.

In the case of this MEGA8, I have connected both Vcc(7) and Avcc(20) to the 5v Vcc from the USBasp programmer, both GND pins(8 & 22) to GND, and set the voltage selector jumper to 5v.

I have SCK from the programmer on SCK(19) on the MEGA8.
I have MISO from the programmer on MISO(18) on the MEGA8.
I have MOSI from the programmer on MOSI(17) on the MEGA8.

There is 5v on the power pins of the MEGA8.





This MEGA8 is supposed to be running the TellyMate composite video output program, and it's OSC is a 16MHz crystal.  I think I might need that, so I will install that on the breadboard and try again, but if someone can just confirm for me that Atmel MCU's must have that crystal OSC in place to even program at all, that would be helpful.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
morgs67
Regular Member

Joined: 10/07/2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Posted: 05:26am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This has some setup info that might explain the problem-

https://www.freetronics.com.au/pages/usbasp-icsp-programmer-quickstart-guide

Tony M
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 06:07am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks, that helped!  

I dropped the bit clock to 187.5kHz, but still no talkie.
I will fit the crystal now, and see if that does it.

I'm just not quite sure what the hell I am doing when it comes to Atmel MCU programming!  

EDIT: Added a 16MHz crystal across pins 9 & 10, with 22pF caps to GND, but the MCU is still undetected.

I must be doing something fundamentally wrong, but I can't currently see what that is.
Thought it would spring to life once I added the crystal and caps....
Edited 2023-09-01 16:23 by Grogster
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9125
Posted: 07:12am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  I have MISO from the programmer on MISO(18) on the MEGA8.
I have MOSI from the programmer on MOSI(17) on the MEGA8.

?
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3802
Posted: 07:13am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Are you getting any output from avrdude that looks like it's seeing the hardware?

BTW I didn't change the hardware (no xtal soldering etc!).

An old example (Linux):

avrdude -p m328p -P /dev/ttyUSB0 -c arduino -U flash:r:uno-r3-USB-flash.hex:i

output (I may have trimmed some out):

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions
Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s
avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f
avrdude: reading flash memory:
Reading | ################################################## | 100% 4.00s
avrdude: writing output file "uno-r3-USB-flash.hex"
avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK

Another example:

avrdude -b 19200 -p m168 -P /dev/ttyUSB0 -c arduino -U flash:r:nano168-flash.hex:i
(my notes say the -b 19200 was needed but now seems odd)

output:
Device signature = 0x1e9406
(etc)

John
Edited 2023-09-01 17:14 by JohnS
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 07:17am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not a sausage.  

Here is the output, when I click on DETECT:



Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6100
Posted: 07:22am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

third line
could not find USBasp.
You need that bit fixed before you worry about the MEGA8

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 07:32am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

But....I installed the drivers, and Windoze is happy that it can see it.
I have selected it in AVRDUDE - what gives?



Is there any way to troubleshoot THAT aspect of things?
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6100
Posted: 07:42am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Check the Hardware IDs and make sure they are USB\VID_16C0&PID_05DC
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 07:47am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, thanks Jim, I will try that - tomorrow.
For tonight, I have had enough of fighting this damn thing, so am going to go to bed and watch a movie or three.  

Thanks to everyone who has replied so far, and we'll take this up again tomorrow.  
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6100
Posted: 07:59am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Also, see what response you get with no avr chip connected, just the USBasp
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3802
Posted: 08:35am 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It does look like it can't see the USB device (usbasp) at all.

On Windows, zadig often seems the answer to USB driver issues.

John
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2129
Posted: 03:00pm 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Doubt if relevant but Great Cow Basic programmer supports USBAS

Edited 2023-09-02 01:06 by stanleyella
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9125
Posted: 03:12pm 01 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

On windows use must use ZADIG and must choose the correct driver - you want libusb-win32. This is not the default - use the dropdown. Suggest you uninstall zadig and start again
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 12:01am 02 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@ JIM - VID & PID match.

@ matherp - I did follow the ZADIG program, and did select the win32 driver INITALLY, but when I rerun ZADIG, it says it is trying to use libusb0 driver, so I have selected libusb-win32, and will try again.

This is how I am about to proceed:





Wish me luck!

EDIT: Nope.  "Unable to detect MCU".....

However, NOW I am not getting the USBasb error line in AVRDUDE, and besides that I am also now getting a 2nd red blinking LED on the programmer module, when I try to do things, so I think AVRDUDE is happy enough that it can see the programmer now, so I will still take that as progress!!!
Edited 2023-09-02 10:11 by Grogster
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 12:22am 02 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Owwwww - "Detected 1e9307 = Atmega8"....


Lets see if I can program it....

YAY!!!





...and I have discovered that you DO have to have the 16MHz osc in place for the chip to even be detectable at all.  Just tried to do a 2nd mega8 chip without the osc, and no talkie.  Put the crystal and two caps back again, and talkie talkie talkie!

But progress!  
I will now program the remaining four chips and store them labelled as programmed with the TellyMate firmware.
Edited 2023-09-02 10:28 by Grogster
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024