Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 23:48 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Hardware SLEEP circuit

Author Message
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 01:01pm 29 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sometimes it is necessary for power saving to shut down a circuit and just have it to wake up on regular basis for doing what it is supposed to do. However it is only a few of the MicroMites that have a built-in SLEEP function. E.g. PicoMite and MMX does not have the sleep possibility. Correct? Could be interesting for WEBmite.

I found a cheap (2.31 euro/10pcs) module from AliExpress:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32952807977.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.order_list_main.4.21ef1802CYIB7b

Here is some additional info:
https://westsideelectronics.com/delay-timer-ic/

My circiut looks like this:



A much smaller FET shold have been sufficient, but this is just a testcircuit.
As you can see it puts also the LCD into SLEEP.
'Test program for C005 Timer Delay. FN 29.8.2023.
'MMX64 v5.07.01
'PIN 46 connected to C005 trigger input.
'C005 triggers at falling input. Does not react to rising input.
'Keep PIN 46 high until a shut-down is wanted.
'Output of C005 stays low until the pre-set (resistor) delay time has elapsed.
'Delay adjustable 2s...1000h.
'OPTION AUTORUN ON is required for automatic start-up.
setpin 46,dout:pin(46)=1
TIMER=0
CLS
BOX 0, 0, MM.Hres-1, MM.Vres/2, 3, RGB(WHITE), RGB(BLUE)
DO
pause 1000
print timer
seconds$=str$(TIMER/1000, 4, 0)
TEXT MM.HRes/2, MM.Vres/4, TIME$, CM, 1, 4, RGB(BLUE), RGB(WHITE)
TEXT MM.hres/2, mm.Vres*3/4, "      ", CM, 1, 3, RGB(GREEN)
TEXT MM.hres/2, mm.Vres*3/4, Seconds$, CM, 1, 3, RGB(GREEN)
if timer>30000 then pause 5000: pin(46)=0
LOOP
END


The MicroMiteExtreme 64 and the connected LCD switches ON/OFF/ON/OFF.... and displays properly.
The only problem is that console prints OK numbers after some start-ups and rubbish after other start-ups. Can it have something to do with that the power is cut on the GND line to CP2102??
Would of course be nicer to cut the power on the +5V line to CP2102, but probably some more components?

Pluto
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2136
Posted: 09:56pm 29 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What current does the MicroMiteExtreme 64 draw when the reset pin is held low?
If it is low enough remove the FET and use a voltage divider (18k + 33k perhaps) to drive the reset pin.

Otherwise the output of the N-channel FET can drive a P-channel FET in the 5V line.
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 359
Posted: 11:27am 30 Aug 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  What current does the MicroMiteExtreme 64 draw when the reset pin is held low?

Without LCD the current is 0.25A when running and 0.11A with MCLR held low.
With LCD the current is 0.31A when running and 0.17A with MCLR held low.

->Only marginal power saving by holding MCLR (reset) low.

  Quote  Otherwise the output of the N-channel FET can drive a P-channel FET in the 5V line.


Just tested with P-channel FET in the 5V line. Works much better!

 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024