Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 06:35 28 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : [PicoMite VGA] Mode 1 with color , bug?

Author Message
ice2642

Regular Member

Joined: 27/05/2023
Location: Brazil
Posts: 82
Posted: 02:22pm 29 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello,

In the manual say the mode 1 monochrome and mode 2 color, but here mode 1 can made 16 colors.

It is a problem in manual or in the picomite vga?

I think it is cool, but have some limitations using color in mode 1.

But it is unstable, for example if you use in command prompt list, all turn white.
But mantain with some other prompt commands, like ? mm.info(version)







The code for reproduce it in other boards. All is running on PcoMite VGA V5.0707


Cls
Print "+-----------------------+"
Print "| Tabela ASCII e cores. |"
Print "|   Marcio Esper 2023   |"
Print "+-----------------------+"
Print
Dim r = RGB(myrtle)
Dim g = RGB(green)
Dim y = RGB(yellow)
Dim j = RGB(cobalt)
Dim f = RGB(cerulean)
Dim h = RGB(cyan)
Dim k = RGB(midgreen)
Dim l = RGB(lilac)
Dim m = RGB(red)
Dim n = RGB(rust)
Dim o = RGB(white)
Dim p = RGB(fuchsia)
Dim q = RGB(brown)
Dim s = RGB(magenta)
Dim t = RGB(blue)

For u = 33 To 255
If u Mod 8 = 1 Then Print
Colour (n):Print Chr$(u)" ";:Colour (h)
If u < 100 Then Print " ";
Print u;:Colour (r):Print " | ";
Next
Print :Print

Colour (r):Print 01 Chr$(219);
Colour (g):Print 02 Chr$(219);
Colour (y):Print 03 Chr$(219);
Colour (j):Print 04 Chr$(219);
Colour (f):Print 05 Chr$(219);
Colour (h):Print 06 Chr$(219);
Colour (k):Print 07 Chr$(219);
Colour (l):Print 08 Chr$(219);
Colour (m):Print 09 Chr$(219);
Colour (n):Print 10 Chr$(219);
Colour (o):Print 11 Chr$(219);
Colour (p):Print 12 Chr$(219);
Colour (q):Print 13 Chr$(219);
Colour (s):Print 14 Chr$(219);
Colour (t):Print 15 Chr$(219);

Print :Print



Best regards,
MMBasic 5.0707 on PicoMite VGA
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 02:52pm 29 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

For Mode 1 refer to the TILE command. It doesn't work like Mode 2.

If you are using the default font (Font 1) then each character can have a foreground and a background colour decided by the TILE command.

As the colour is at the same resolution as the characters rather than the pixelss you will see it change colour according to the TILE colour for each cell.

This isn't a bug. Because the pixel resolution is higher the colour resolution has to be lower for the same frame buffer size - which is fixed by the available RAM.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
ice2642

Regular Member

Joined: 27/05/2023
Location: Brazil
Posts: 82
Posted: 03:04pm 29 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  For Mode 1 refer to the TILE command. It doesn't work like Mode 2.

If you are using the default font (Font 1) then each character can have a foreground and a background colour decided by the TILE command.

As the colour is at the same resolution as the characters rather than the pixelss you will see it change colour according to the TILE colour for each cell.

This isn't a bug. Because the pixel resolution is higher the colour resolution has to be lower for the same frame buffer size - which is fixed by the available RAM.


This is a good information, I was no idea about this tile procedure to draw the screen.

Thank you.

The mode 1 with font 1 can be useful in some programs to produce color with a big text area :)

Best regards,
MMBasic 5.0707 on PicoMite VGA
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6798
Posted: 03:08pm 29 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If you arrange the tiles correctly you can get some rather good colour effects in Mode 1. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4247
Posted: 04:21pm 29 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Look at the logic analyzer program.
It uses color in graph and text in 640x480 mode 1

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024