Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : why "Error : Pin not set for I2C"?
Author | Message | ||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.08b6 Copyright 2011-2023 Geoff Graham Copyright 2016-2023 Peter Mather > option list PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.08b6 OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP14,GP15 OPTION COLOURCODE ON OPTION DISPLAY 43, 120 OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1306I2C, LANDSCAPE, 2 OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE > text 0,0,"This is line 1" > ?date$,time$ 01-01-2000 00:00:37 > rtc settime "23/06/23 14:57" > ?date$,time$ 23-06-2023 14:57:03 > run 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F 00: [12] I2C write addr, 0, 1, &H00 ' write zero to that adress Error : Pin not set for I2C > list ' i2cdetect like program ' Prep table Print " 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F" ' loop col/row For y=0 To 7 Print Hex$(y,2);": "; For x=0 To 15 addr = y*16+x ' calc address I2C write addr, 0, 1, &H00 ' write zero to that adress If MM.I2C=0 Then ' check for errors Print Hex$(addr,2);" "; ' found one! Else Print "-- "; ' nothing here.. EndIf Next x Next y From the command line, the LCD is written to successfully, and the RTC is set with "RTC SETTIME", but the program to detect I2C devices fails with "Error : Pin not set for I2C" even though the system I2C is set. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2129 |
' Set Pins! SetPin gp14, gp15, I2C ' Open first I2C I2C open 100, 200 Edited 2023-06-24 04:41 by stanleyella |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Per the manual: "The I2C based display controllers use the SYSTEM I2C pins as per the pinout for the specific device. Other I2C devices can share the bus subject to their addresses being unique. If an I2C display is configured it will not be necessary to "open" the I2C port for an additional device (I2C OPEN)". Am I misunderstanding what the manual is saying? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4247 |
Pin gp14 and gp15 are I2C2, not I2C Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
That was it. Working now on I2C2. Thanks. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Print this page |