Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:42 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Inputting extended characters in Tera Term

Author Message
franzi

Newbie

Joined: 20/03/2023
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Posted: 11:13pm 28 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'd like to use the extended character set from fonts 1 and 4, but can't find a way to input them into a print string in Tera Term (Win 11).

It must be a simple thing to do, but I've drawn a blank so far.

Any help or advice would be grately appreciated.

Greetings from Berlin, Germany.
Franzi
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6102
Posted: 11:21pm 28 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You need to use chr$(xxx) or, if your device has the option of using escape sequences, that will be much easier.

Directly storing values above 127 in a string is not permitted.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
franzi

Newbie

Joined: 20/03/2023
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Posted: 11:11am 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks. I had this working for one character at a time using Chr$(xxx), but am puzzled as to how I can create larger graphics using the extended character set. Tony Goodhew from the UK has posted a Youtube video showing a text and graphics workout for the Waveshare 1.44 LCD running uPython on a RPi Pico:



I'm trying to find out how to do the same in MMBasic, but I haven't used basic since the early eighties. Fnd finding the Picomite project a few weeks ago has rekindled my interest.

I am using Tera Term VT on Win 11 to code my Picomite, and the embedded fonts folder in my PicoMite firmware download contained extra fonts, but no additional information.

Tony Goodhew's interesting video is here

Franzi
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3816
Posted: 11:37am 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Probably something like

for i=128 to 255
print chr$(i);
next i

(I think - can't try it.)

Note the semicolon.

Also try from i=1

Tera Term / etc if it gets the same chars won't love 'em.

John
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2141
Posted: 11:50am 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry wrong thread.
Edited 2023-03-29 21:51 by phil99
 
franzi

Newbie

Joined: 20/03/2023
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Posted: 12:55pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for the suggestion John.

I'm using Tera Term VT on Win 11, with an RPi Pico running version PicoMiteV5.07.07b28 of the firmware. On my console, coding with Print works, and for 128 to 255 generates:

> RUN
€‚ƒ„…†‡ˆ‰Š‹ŒŽ‘’“”•–—˜™š›œžŸ ¡¢£¤¥¦§¨©ª«¬­®¯°±²³´µ¶·¸¹º»¼½¾¿ÀÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈÉÊËÌÍÎÏÐÑÒÓÔÕÖ×ØÙÚÛÜÝÞßàáâãäåæçèéêëìíîïðñòóôõö÷øùúûüýþÿ>


Changing my language preference in Tera Term to UTF-8 gives a slightly different result:

?? ¡¢£¤¥¦§¨©ª«¬­®¯°±²³´µ¶·¸¹º»¼½¾¿ÀÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈÉÊËÌÍÎÏÐÑÒÓÔÕÖ×ØÙÚÛÜÝÞßàáâãäåæçèéêëìíîïðñòóôõö÷øùúûüýþÿ>


But the graphic characters (here from the manual) seem to be missing:



When I try to write text on a display with:
for i=128 to 255
Text 0,0, chr$(i);
next i

the semicolon gives me:
Error: Expression syntax


Removing the semicolon gives me one character (seems to be *) on the display screen, and no error message.

Franzi
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3152
Posted: 01:28pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Works for me (ILI9488):

  Quote  PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.07b28
Copyright 2011-2023 Geoff Graham
Copyright 2016-2023 Peter Mather
> font 1
> cls
> fh=mm.fontheight:fw=mm.fontwidth
> for i=0 to 7:for j=0 to 15:text j*fw,i*fh,chr$(127+(i*16+j)):next:next
> font 4
> for i=0 to 7:for j=0 to 15:text j*fw,(i+9)*fh,chr$(127+(i*16+j)):next:next
>



Edited 2023-03-29 23:29 by lizby
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1115
Posted: 01:36pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  franzi said  Thanks. I had this working for one character at a time using Chr$(xxx), but am puzzled as to how I can create larger graphics using the extended character set. Tony Goodhew from the UK has posted a Youtube video showing a text and graphics workout for the Waveshare 1.44 LCD running uPython on a RPi Pico:



I'm trying to find out how to do the same in MMBasic, but I haven't used basic since the early eighties. Fnd finding the Picomite project a few weeks ago has rekindled my interest.

I am using Tera Term VT on Win 11 to code my Picomite, and the embedded fonts folder in my PicoMite firmware download contained extra fonts, but no additional information.

Tony Goodhew's interesting video is here

Franzi

Picomite and Windows comunicate just with text.
The Font in Terra Term is related to your installed Fonts in Windows.
For the same output you need for windows a Font with the same  characterset as on the Picomite.
'no comment
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6814
Posted: 01:47pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

&h7F to &hFF characters are only present in fonts 1 & 4 on the PicoMite AFAIK. You will also need to set Tera Term to use a Courier font, I think.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3152
Posted: 01:59pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

A font change in teraterm to OEM8514 gave the IBM line drawing characters, but not the others:

  Quote  > for i=0 to 7:for j=0 to 15:?chr$(127+(i*16+j));:next:?" ":next



PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
franzi

Newbie

Joined: 20/03/2023
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Posted: 02:17pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Many thanks lizby! I've just got it working. Using your code it's just what I was trying to do:



Martin - thanks for your suggestions. I was trying to use the buit-in fonts from the Picomite, and thanks to lizby I've got it working now. I'm not sure how my image somehow rotated 90° left, but shows the result.

Thanks to all for help and suggestions.

Franzi
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4047
Posted: 02:57pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I believe this is a Windows/Teraterm font that matches the PicoMite (and CMM2):

   https://github.com/thwill1000/cmm2-kingdom/blob/main/resources/CMM2f1.fon

Not mine I hasten to add, but I like to keep a copy for posterity.

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2023-03-30 00:59 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3816
Posted: 03:04pm 29 Mar 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  franzi said  When I try to write text on a display with:
for i=128 to 255
Text 0,0, chr$(i);
next i

the semicolon gives me:
Error: Expression syntax


Removing the semicolon gives me one character (seems to be *) on the display screen, and no error message.

Franzi

TEXT has different syntax and meaning. Yes, remove the semicolon - but you also need to change the x,y position :)

John
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024